MCM Week: Race Prep, Gear & OMG

We’re down to four days, one easy run, one race expo plus a lot of meals, sleeping hours and obsessive-weather-checks to go! It is most definitely goal-race-week, as my stomach instantly feels butterflies at the mere mention of the marathon. I know that’s a good sign; I’m ready, but humble. I’ve done this before, but that doesn’t make it easy.

The Marine Corps Marathon {Official} Facebook page is keeping us posted with updates, motivational thoughts and the signs we’ll see as each mile ticks by…

MCMMCM Mile markers

Physical Prep: I was shocked pleasantly surprised by how well last year’s race went, so I thought why not look back and see what that race-week prep looked like (how is it that we can forget these things we’ve done so.many.times??):  3.1 miles, Yoga, 5 miles, Rest, 5 miles, Rest, RACE.

So far this week: 6 miles, 4 miles (with the lululemon Run Club), Rest…Yoga (Thursday), 5 miles (Friday), Rest, RACE.

Not quite the same, but not radically different. Stick with what works! Done.

—-

Gear Prep: The weather looks like…well…um, can we not go there yet? I have a few different options in mind. I have the literal marathon crops from lululemon, I have orange gear to match their Mile 23 Cheer Club and I have the rain gear that I’m not yet fully accepting that I’ll have to wear (which means it won’t rain – RIGHT?).

Run A marathon crops lululemonIMG_3331

purple-nike-pegasus-shoes

Either way, I know the staples that will be with me rain or shine: Nike Pegasus 28s, my Camelbak, a luluemon 50-Rep sports bra and comfy socks (plus an extra pair on D just in case. See: rain).

—–

O.M.G.: There’s a tropical storm coming. I don’t know if it will make it all the way up to DC, but the words tropical STORM are being repeated over and over by these crazy weather people! That’s all.

To distract myself, D & I are watching a lot of Hulu,  I’m spending time with friends (see: walk-date, yoga-date, Friday happy-hour date…) and I’m reading a lot of posts from last Fall that tell me why I’m doing this. There were quite a few points along this training cycle that led me to question whether or not the right motivation was behind this; rereading my own words has always been the most solid reminder that I’m in the right place.

I remembered the original goal I set, and the gusto behind the words I wrote. I remembered a lesson learned from Kate, and was reminded of a manifesto that never fails – DO IT NOW.

MCM postrace bundleMCM 2011 PR

The original goal this time around – 3:30.

The gusto:

That leaves a lot of work to be done between now and October 28, 2012….

Challenge, accepted!

Dear Challenge, I hope you’re ready for me & these legs.

We’re ready for you!

16 Comments

Filed under DC, distractions, Goals, Lululemon, marathon, MCM, motivation, Races, running, running gear

16 responses to “MCM Week: Race Prep, Gear & OMG

  1. Good luck!!! I’ll be there cheering a few people on. If you post your bib # i’ll be sure to cheer you on as well! ps- i’m new follower. 🙂

  2. wow good luck… btw omg I LOVE lululemon stuff… I wish I was an abassador… pss: I’m your newest follower hehe… Happy running, can’t wait to hear how it goes! Auds 🙂

  3. It’s SO cool to go back and look at how well you did. You’re going to knock it out of the park this year! You’re seasoned.

    The one thing you cannot worry about it weather! Worry about what you CAN control, like looking fabulous. Ugh can I raid your closet? (in a few months at least)

  4. Mamacita

    We will be anxious to hear about the MCM on Sunday; we are proud of you.
    Love, Mamacita and Dad

  5. You’ll do great! We’ll be out cheering for you!

  6. Woot! Go get it!! Is there a way to track you? If so, I hope you’ll share the deets. 😉

  7. Cannot wait to hear all about it. The rain will only make you faster! Enjoy yoga and your last run!!

  8. Good luck! Rain or shine or tropical storm, you’ll rock it!

  9. ya, remember that triathlon we were supposed to work in the bahamas? canceled! I know you will have a great race, despite the weather.!

  10. YES you are so ready! I hope the weather cooperates for you, but you know what? You’ll still crush it. Don’t let it get in your head. (easier said than done, I know…)

    GO GIRL! DO IT NOW.

  11. Ahh!! Can’t believe it’s FOUR DAYS away!! you’re going to do SO AWESOME. and ps totally doing a rain-free dance for you, I mean a tropical storm -no way man, not cool at all!!

    • Heather C

      “not cool at all!” hah, RIGHT? I mean, c’mon, we have some running to do! HOLD UP, Hurricane Sandy.

      Thanks for the dance – fingers crossed! 😉

  12. GL! I am running it too. Last year’s MCM was so awesome. I am looking fwd to running it again this year too…hopefully the rain will stay away in the morning and if not oh well. You’ve got this!!!

  13. ok, soooo unrelated but that orange/coal long sleeve? I’d give my left ear to find one somewhere. sigh.

    I’ll be cheering in CC with Molly, so look for us! YEAHHHH you are so ready!

Let's Hear It!

