Today is Good because…

I woke up a little bit extra early with a specific route in mind. It’s not always something I have time to do, but the route wouldn’t be too long and either way, well worth it. Because of this run, I’m having one of those days – the best kind – where I’m head over heels for this city, this sport and this season.

One of my first thoughts as I headed south on Connecticut Ave and towards the National Mall? Today is good. Why? Because…

…I can run, and I did.

purple-nike-pegasus-shoesMall route

…I live close enough to this scene to take advantage of its trails at sunrise or sunset. Usually it’s the latter, with the lululemon crew, but today it was an early date.

Good morning DC

…DC & I are both morning people. Hello, gorgeous.

Lincoln memorial front

…I have a job that allows an early morning run. I saw way too many suits walking to the metro at 6:15 a.m., and thought with comfortable certainty “that will never be my life.”

…I have a smartphone that captures these moments.

…I know these streets well enough to map a perfect 7-miler, hitting all of my favorite spots.

sunrise reflecting pool DCsunrise WWII memorial

(The time difference between these two shots? Approximately 5 seconds. The other difference? A shot facing west, and a shot facing east.)

sunrise washington monument side 2sunrise Capitol bldg

sunrise Pennsylvania avenue Capitol
Sunrise post office pavilionsunrise Willard hotel
Sunrise Lafayette square
sunrise White House
Sunrise farragut northSunrise Dupont circcle

From the top: Washington Monument & the Capitol from the Mall; Capitol from Pennsylvania Avenue; Post Office Pavilion (left), Willard Hotel (right); Lafayette Square; White House; Farragut North (left), Dupont Circle (right).

—–

I woke up and got to sweat.

What makes today good for you?

13 Comments

Filed under DC, early morning, running, things that make me Happy, weather love

13 responses to “Today is Good because…

  1. Love it! WIsh I lived downtown!

  2. reading this post made today good for me! it also made me have the greatest urge to visit DC just so I can go for an early morning run and see all the sights you posted!

  3. LOVE those pictures! Wow, what a beautiful thing. I LOVE an early morning run too, nothing better! It’s a toss up between that and teaching an early morning barre n9ne class! Both are awesome in different ways 🙂

  4. Gorgeous pictures! I’m visiting DC in October (my friend is running the MCM) and this post has made me even more excited to see the city! Thanks for sharing – morning runs are the best!

    • Heather C

      How fun! Hope you have an awesome trip – that’s always a gorgeous time of year to be in this city (as is September – we’re spoiled with perfect Fall temps) 🙂

  5. I remember when I used to be a morning person…I miss that.
    We’ve had some perfect running weather, though. Glad you got to take advantage!

  6. Not a bad way to start your morning. Not. At. All.

  7. I love it when you post pics from DC, it’s so beautiful there and I wish I had views like that to run around!

  8. Mamacita

    Beautiful pics of an amazing city. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and pics.
    Love, Mamacita

  9. Beautiful! I have a post for next week on my run home from work with some similar scenes 🙂 I agree with you wholeheartedly…love it! –Ericka @ the Sweet Life

  10. love those mornings. Beautiful!

  11. Ali

    Today is good because I get to make dinero by helping people, and then go to yoga ;). Nice pics!

  12. Lauren

    You live in such a gorgeous city!! I haz the jelly…

Let's Hear It!

