Almond & Roasted Red Pepper Mahi Mahi

When we need some added flavor in the grocery cart, or I’m thinking a few dishes could use a facelift, I go straight for the roasted red pepper jars. They always pleasantly surprise me, and get along well with all types of menu items. Last week I tapped into the powerful combination of roasted red peppers + food processor, and now have a new favorite-fish dinner staple!

Almond & Roasted Red Pepper Mahi Mahi

4 4-6 oz Mahi Mahi filets
1 cup roasted red peppers (or 3-4 whole peppers, roasted)
1/3 cup raw almonds, sliced
1.5 tbsp olive oil, divided
1 small yellow onion, sliced
Cooking oil spray / 1 tbsp oil (for the baking pan)
Salt & pepper to taste

almond and roasted red pepper mahi mahiSide dish is up to you, but in this case we went with farm-fresh zucchini  slices, sautéed and seasoned.

Heat the oven to 450*. Combine roasted red peppers, almond slices, 1 tbsp oil, salt & pepper in a food processor. Pulse until mixed well, but not smooth (see picture to the left).

Line a baking pan (I used 8×8) with cooking spray, or lightly oil, and onion slices. Top with mahi mahi filets, lightly oil (using remaining olive oil) and lightly season with salt/pepper. Top filets with a layer of the almond red pepper paste, spreading evenly.

Bake 15-20 minutes (check at ~12 minutes, our gas stove tends to heat and bake quickly), depending on the thickness of the filets. Fish should be opaque and flaky when done. (Optional: cover with foil).

Serve with a side of veggies and/or a grain (quinoa, rice, etc).

This was a fish-revelation in our kitchen. I’ll be making this again, ASAP, and possibly playing around with some seasonings & spices in that almond-red-pepper mixture.

—–

What’s your favorite roasted red pepper dish?

7 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, groceries, recipes, what to eat

7 responses to “Almond & Roasted Red Pepper Mahi Mahi

  1. Not a fish eater, but I’m thinking that would go great with chicken too!

  2. Mamacita

    This recipe sounds delicious; I will be making this one as soon as I have a kitchen. Love, Mamacita

  3. wait, I’m confused. mahi mahi has fish in it. at least I heard.
    🙂

  4. Steve calls me the “pepper princess” because I put red peppers in EVERYTHING. My favorite uses: Buying storebought hummus, but adding extra roasted-red peppers via my own little food processor. Makes it taste like homemade, but it’s done in about 10 seconds. Also, pureed roasted red peppers make just about any pasta dish twice as delicious, in my opinion.

    • Heather C

      Couldn’t agree more! The next night I pureed and put them on top of brown rice pasta + veggies. SO easy and so delicious.

  5. Heather T

    Made this last week and it was a hit with the hubby. So easy & delicious! Thank you.

Let's Hear It!

