Juicy FRUIT {For All} Giveaway

Today’s post is outside the box, but speaks to the first area of Nutrition that I felt strongly passionate about – childhood health and development through nourishing foods. Read on, for a giveaway of sorts at the end!

—–

The sight of a juice box provokes nostalgia for the brown-bag lunching elementary school days. My mom packed ours almost every day, and the juice box was a staple next to the cut-in-half sandwich, chips, fruit and/or vegetables (carrots or green pepper slices) and the best homemade cookie treat.

These days, my lunches may never include a juice box and very rarely end with a homemade cookie. They do almost always include fresh fruit and veggies.

While I’ll always be in the fresh-first camp, it’s simply accepting a reality to know that this isn’t an option for every family, all the time. And while you’ll rarely, if ever, see me with a juice box in hand (though, that would be an interesting post-race freebie!), I still felt compelled to participate in the Juicy Juice Fruit for All (FFA) project when Nestle approached me*.

JJ FFA map

“What Juicy Juice is doing is just amazing…it will really help to fill the gap that we’re experiencing right now.”  

-Carole Tremblay, Los Angeles Regional Food bank

This project, partnering with Feeding America, is dedicated to providing 35 million pieces of fresh fruit to kids and families across the U.S. Most of us don’t think about living in hunger, or being “food insecure” often, because our realities are unique. But food deserts exist, where fresh produce is a luxury, not a norm.

Their documentary provides more information around the FFA project, the families who benefit from it and the adorable kiddos who taste the unbeatable natural sweetness of fresh, juicy fruit.

 

A nutritionally balanced and varied diet is key for growth and health at any age, but is especially important during childhood developmental years.

If kids aren’t exposed to fresh food, how will they ever know to seek it and choose it? How will they know that it tastes great, and the juice is deliciously sweet and sticky? If it’s not familiar, it’s foreign; they’ll mature to find comfort in what they do know (packages, convenience, “inexpensive”), vs. what’s better for them.

“America’s battle is not about having enough food; in fact, 20 billion pounds of food go to waste each year.”  -FFA project

Instead, it’s about getting that food into hands and mouths!

—-

THE GIVEAWAY

In participating and spreading the word about Juicy Juice’s FFA campaign, they will bring 400 pieces of fresh fruit to a food bank in DC, and provide the same for your community if you win**!

— TO ENTER: Leave a note sharing the first fruit you remember loving as a kid. Mine? Cold, juicy summer watermelon. The BEST. Hands down.

U.S. residents only, please. Entries will be closed as of 10 p.m. (EST), on Wednesday, August 8. watermelon FFA smile

I think she agrees with me. {Image source}

To learn more about what you’ll be supporting, check out the FFA site and/or Facebook page.

**Even if you don’t win here, there are plenty of other ways to be involved if you’re interested!

—–

*Full Disclosure: this post is in partnership with Nestle and their Fruit For All project. I was not paid to promote this campaign, and did not receive any Nestle product as part of my involvement. All media in this post is from the Juicy Juice FFA website.

4 Comments

Filed under food, Giveaway, Nutrition

4 responses to “Juicy FRUIT {For All} Giveaway

  1. runningoutofsteam

    I know we consider tomatoes a vegetable, but I am going with tomatoes anyway. I remember visiting my family outside of Pittsburgh during the summer and eating tomatoes right off the vine. Or eating tomato sandwiches on homemade bread until I was stuffed. To this day I insist we grow tomatoes in our garden every year so I can have fresh tomatoes everyday. We have started growing varieties other than just red. They make for such an extra fun salad. I have apparently passed this love of tomatoes to my youngest girl who at every tomato off the dinner table before we’d even noticed she’d climbed up there.

  2. runnergirl4jc

    My youngest memory eating fruit as a child would be when I was around 5 or 6. I ate fresh blackberries ate my mamaws house. She had a huge bowl of them in the table that she just picked earlier that morning. My brother and I ate them up and we had stained purple hands. Everytime I eat them, it brings back great memories.

  3. My earliest fruit memory is picking blueberries with my Mom and brothers in Michigan. We packed up a cooler of snacks and cold drinks and drove out to the farm on a hot and dusty summer afternoon. My Mom walked us to the far corner of the blueberry patch where the berries were most ripe and hadn’t been picked over by other people. The berries were fat and hung in clumps that you could just tickle off into your basket. One for the basket, two for me! They were sweet and fresh and warm from the sun, it was so good. Our hands were sticky with juice by the end of the afternoon but we had a huge haul of blueberries to take home with us to eat the rest of the week. 🙂 Yum.

  4. I used to stand on the sofa and reach over the bar into kitchen sink to eat grapes. I would eat so many I would get sick!

Let's Hear It!

