Resembling Routine: Yoga, Run {MCM Days}

Last Fall Kate introduced me to Beth’s sunrise yoga class, and once was all it took. We went every week, sometimes sticking around for a double-class (sure, great idea in theory. Not a great idea for sore legs on a long run the next day!), always grateful for having started the day with her “party”. I put any normal training logic aside. I didn’t care if my arms, abs, glutes or quads were worked hard, regardless of the distance my legs and feet would tackle less than 24 hours later.

For a variety of reasons, we’ve missed this class for months. We went back today, greeted with a smile and a “Hey guys, it’s been a while!”, and welcomed with a quick sequence that I’ll definitely be feeling tomorrow. My arms and abs are wondering what happened, when we woke up and why they didn’t get coffee first. My mind is thankful; this routine feels familiar.

When I signed up for Marine Corps Marathon (MCM), I begged convinced Kate to join me. I basically trained with her last fall, taking on only the long runs by myself (or sometimes joined by her for 5-10 miles). I knew we could be a powerhouse together; she’s not a huge fan of the distance, I’m still learning to embrace the speed. I knew the motivation of having her along for the challenge would make every difference.

I set an ambitious goal, and there’s no looking back…

MCM 2012 3.30.xx

Fast-forward to July, when all the wheels should start turning and all of those empty calendar days should be filled with run, rest, ride or yoga. Kate is out with an injury, and I’m just getting past the point of deciding if this solo-training thing is worth it for round 2.

It is.

What I’m really getting past is the decision that yes, I can still run faster. I can run during the week and push myself, without distraction. I can plan 12+ weeks worth of long runs and get every single one of them done. I can get myself to the starting line, again, and run against the clock.

A little faith goes a long way.

Channeling the me that signed up for this race with no idea what the spring racing would produce, no idea what the summer would hold, and no idea that I’d be without my sidekick, it’s on. MCM, I’m lookin’ at you and your 35,000 runners!

—-

With one block of my routine back in place, familiarity is setting the tone. Yoga: check! Iced coffee-induced speedy typing: check! Friday date-night planned: check. Early alarm set, long distance decided: Check and CHECK.

9 Comments

Filed under Goals, MCM, running, running buddy, training, Yoga

9 responses to “Resembling Routine: Yoga, Run {MCM Days}

  1. Yep, I am in a similar place as you right now – training for MCM solo, loving sunrise yoga (just once a week though), and fueled by iced coffee! Good luck with your long run this weekend.

  2. You can most definitely hit your goal and train for it by yourself! I’m looking forward to reading all about the journey.
    After my Ironman, I’m hoping to get into yoga and take a class at least once a week. Sunrise yoga sounds amazing- a great way to start the day.

  3. Sorry to hear that your running bud is out with injury. I hope she is back on the road soon to keep you company and maybe even step in to help pace you for some of MCM. You CAN do this solo, no doubt about that. Get it, girl!

  4. Good luck to you! Your attitude and mindset are going to get you through it. My friend is training for the MCM and I will be out in DC cheering her on in Oct. Can’t wait to see all the runners!

  5. Kate

    Just ’cause I’m not running next to you doesn’t mean I won’t be pushing you! 🙂 I know you have it in you.

  6. Interestingly, the year I did MCM one of the main reasons I signed up was because my friend said she would do it with me. And then she got hurt. So I did all of my training solo. You can do it and get that 3:30 goal!

  7. Bummer about the running partner being sidelined. Any folks from your lululemon group runs you can train with instead?

    • Heather C

      Actually there are quite a few people in the group I do the long(er) Saturday runs with that are training! So, I should be all set. Unfortunately, none of them live close enough for the 6 am weekday meet-ups… 😉

Let's Hear It!

