The Year 2-6

I’m past the quarter-century mark, still kickin’! Sometimes I actually have to stop and remember how “old” I am; I’ll go ahead and assume that will be the case from here on out. I’ll also assume it means my head is in the right place – age is just a number, right?

Umbrella drinksphotobooth baseballWCS PMs
Purg Jump 2 Four Corners - Us 2

That said, this chapter has been dog-eared; I know it’s one I’ll want to look back on for future wisdom from myself. It was a year of more digging and less uprooting, more quiet and less noise, more attacking and less backing down. I’ve learned things I wish I had known a few years ago, realizing at the same time that the best lessons are received through experience. We’re approaching one year in the same apartment, which stands as a huge victory alone (as crazy as that sounds)! Take those small wins, let them work some magic.

Lost Lake Nederland COMCM PR 2011Wash. Monument   WWII Mem Flag

studiodcyogaafterworkWCS Crew SF Run

After 25 short years, I’m catching up with myself. It may take a self-diagnosis or two, but my mind and I are learning to compromise. The bucket list is always growing, but I know 26 is ready to make its mark– a new stamp on the passport, new fitness challenges, a new family member, new blank spaces and a few new seconds minutes knocked off of those PRs.

I’ll tackle the surf, learn to understand enough French to order my wine and give thanks (Merci beacoup), strengthen the run and stay true to the yoga-core. I’ll continue to coach, lead a weekly run, explore this city (and a few others) with my favorite side-kick (aka D), play bike-spectator-sherpa and keep reading words in print. I won’t shake anything up too much…

makemistakes

Twenty-six, you have good timing. Let’s have fun.

19 Comments

Filed under about me, Goals, learning, making plans, new things!, things that make me Happy

19 responses to “The Year 2-6

  1. That was a very well written post, motivational and inspirational. Hope 26 brings everything you’re hoping for:-)

  2. after 29 years i am catching up with myself too. It’s a good feeling. I love your digging. Keep doing it. so much to discover. Happy bday!

  3. Ah you’re like 18 to me:) dog-eared – love that expression.

    You are JUST getting started. Sending you big birthday wishes today!

  4. I still sometimes forget how old I am. You’re in good company.

    Happy birthday!

  5. Happy birthday!
    It sounds like a fun year with lots to look forward to! Is the new stamp on the passport and French learning for next year’s Tour?!
    I sometimes laugh that I’m 28, as I still feel super young! (I know 28 is young, but when I was younger I thought the late 20s were so old!)

  6. Happy day to you! 26 was my hardest birthday, but it’s been a breeze ever since. 🙂 You seem to be embracing it well!

  7. Wishing you a fantastic birthday today girl!

  8. Teri Schultz

    Hey cuz! Just wanted to tell you happy birthday! I remember 26 well – that was the year I started law school, TWENTY years ago! When I was at my parents’ house a couple of weeks ago, I ran across a picture of you in my sister’s (your cousin, Tracy’s) wedding. I brought it home on a CD and need to dig it out and send it to you – so cute! I think you were about 4.
    Hope you have a wonderful birthday – celebrate well!

  9. Ivan

    You shouldn’t eat baseballs, they’re not healthy for you.

    Happy birthday!

  10. Mamacita

    Ah, so many things to look forward to in your 26th year; enjoy your day and the year. Love you lots! Mamacita

  11. I love your fire, girl!! Happy 26 my dear!!

  12. Happy birthday!! 26 was a great year for me…I moved to NYC! Enjoy your day and I can’t wait to see what 26 (and the rest…) bring you…you’re always up to something!

  13. Happy Birthday! Keep on plugging away, making progress, and having FUN!

  14. I always think that its important to embrace age instead of dread it. I like to think of getting older as getting wiser and conquering new challenges! Our 20s may seem like the best years of our lives…but we haven’t yet lived the 30s, 40s, 50s, etc. Who’s not to say those can’t be the best? It’s what we make of each and every day…not our age that matters most! I’m happy to read you embracing this new year…oh and Happy Birthday from a fellow dietitian 🙂

  15. Happy Birthday love! Hope the day was perfect 🙂

  16. So much to celebrate this year, and even more to look forward to! Way to make it count.

  17. OMG! Are you going to France?!?!

  18. also hi, happy internet birthday.

    (and wordpress just told me to slow down, hush up WP)

Let's Hear It!

