Gluten-Free, Vegan Zucchini Fritters

One goal of ours this week was to try new recipes; summer hours mean later dinners and more time spent out enjoying the season. Those “late” dinners are usually quick ones – we’re just-in from riding, running, yoga-ing, walking, etc and want something five minutes ago! And by “quick”, I mean routine and uncreative.

Pinterest to the rescue! I don’t log on often, because when I do? The next hour is totally gone, sucked quickly into cyberspace to be divided among “Food & Drink”, “Women’s Apparel” and “Travel”.  I have a board full of recipes for the Veg Life, none of which we’ve ever actually made.

Thanks to a tip from our weekend visitors – one board for recipes “to make”, one board for recipes we have made (transfer pins), to keep it all straight! – I used my Veg life pins to inspire our grocery cart.

First up, Zucchini Fritters! This made the cut solely because we have a large, fresh-from-the-(Good Life) farm zucchini in the fridge.

Zucchini Fritters – Vegan & Gluten-Free*
Recipe adapted from Alexandra’s Kitchen

2 zucchinis, coarsely grated (I had one large, one small)
1 medium white potato, coarsely grated
1/4 cup yellow onion, diced
1/4 cup Quinoa flour**
Salt to taste
1 tsp dried rosemary (or herb of choice)
1 tsp dried thyme (or herb of choice)
1.5 Tbsp olive oil, divided

*We’re out of our farm eggs, which I didn’t realize until mixing these together. Egg-free version is vegan-friendly.
**Could substitute any other flour (whole-wheat, oat, etc.).

Mix all ingredients together in a small bowl – reserve 1 Tbsp oil for “frying”.

Zucchini fritters cookingHeat remaining oil over medium in a deep sauté pan. Form mixture into “patties” – this is a loose term, as you’ll notice these are very moist and don’t seem to stick initially. Just form those patties and trust the veggies.

Cook on each side for 4-5 minutes, until browned and sticking. Just like a pancake, you’ll know when to “flip” because it will actually do so (vs. crumbling into tiny zucchini+potato pieces).

I could do three fritters at a time; this batch made a total of ~12.  One serving is 2-3, depending on how big you make them.

Zucchini fritters 2

Serving suggestions: atop quinoa (a la us) or pasta, or with tzatziki dipping sauce (great appetizer option!). If you have something else in mind, go with that.

Either way, enjoy this simple veg-filled dinner!

11 Comments

Filed under dinners, Meatless Monday, recipes, vegetarian

11 responses to “Gluten-Free, Vegan Zucchini Fritters

  1. This might be the perfect side dish for my salmon tonight – love that they don’t use a ton of oil to cook, either! 🙂

  2. i cannot wait to get my hands on these little fritters!!! hehe

  3. Ooh, defintiely trying these out! I tried making eggplant fritters myself once, and they were pretty disappointing. Maybe these will redeem my home-made fritter attempts!

  4. Yummy recipe! I think I’ll have to pin this and actually make it when zucchinis are out in full force!

  5. These look great!

    I’m actually scared to join Pinterest. The last thing I need is another internet time-suck. ha!

  6. Those look awesome! Would sweet potatoes work?

  7. Later dinners is right! I hear ya. I actually had eggplant fries (fry thingys) and they were amazing, so I’d be willing to give these a try.

  8. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday | Live and Love To Eat

  9. Between Zuzu’s allergies, my husband’s picky eating, and J.R.’s undying love for mac n’ cheese, I do not see my family limiting itself to a vegan or even a vegetarian diet anytime soon. But I have been making a concerted effort to make more vegetarian meals, and since learning about my vegan friend, I have even given some thought to how to modify these recipes to be vegan. In summer, I find it especially easy to make satisfying vegetarian dinners. For one thing, I always start with gazpacho . Follow with a caprese salad, zucchini fritters, pasta con pesto or any one of dozens of other recipes that feature summer favorites like tomatoes, corn, peppers, eggplant or zucchini, and we do not miss the meat at all.

Let's Hear It!

