Weekstart – Five Feel Good Lifestyle Questions

We’re almost always talking about, and looking forward to, the weekend. “Weekstart” is not even a word – hence it looks a little odd, and the red spell-check line that’s staring at me as I type is angry – and we anticipate the Sunday night angst.

Well, in an attempt to slowly ease the pain of settling into Monday morning, I found this online gem (thanks to D!). The Feel Good Lifestyle (FGL) sent an update through the Facebook world last night, prompting the possibility that we could look at Sunday night differently. It’s the end of the weekend, but a fresh slate to start a new week! In that mindset, FGL asked the following questions. I played along:

1) What am I excited about this week?
Nothing big on the agenda! almost each night is open (for now) and there’s plenty of time to cook at home, relax, read and check some things off of the to-do lists.

2) What are the 5 most important things I want to get done?
Try new recipes – continue the Cycling 101 post series –  get a pedicure (two weddings coming up so soon!) – go to yoga –  execute a project that’s been in the works for the past month.

3) How do I want to show up in the world (positive qualities)?
Kind, loyal, patient; inspiring, teaching; the person who does, instead of just dreams of doing – maybe not all in one week, but in general.

4) What do I have to be careful about (distractions, weaknesses)?
Reactions, judgment, time management and impatience – riding my bike to work, even just for one day (maybe two this time around…) helps with this immensely. You can keep your crazy driving and road-rage tendencies, fellow drivers. I’ll take the trail, instead.

5) What do I want to learn more about {this week}?
This list is always long…

Katie’s amazing accomplishment, Ms. Ironman.
The Feel Good Lifestyle Blog
Glutamine (nutrition-nerd in me needs to better understand this amino acid)
Social Media + Marketing / PR  – currently reading this.
Homemade Salad Dressings

—–

Feel free to answer all 5 below, or the old-fashioned way with paper & pen. Either way, it’s interesting to see what pops up in your mind right away. Go with that!

6 Comments

Filed under about me, Goals, learning, random

6 responses to “Weekstart – Five Feel Good Lifestyle Questions

  1. Yes, I like this fresh way to look at the start of a new week. I’m looking forward to a little road trip down to California for my brother’s wedding!! It’s going to be a lot of fun. I’m doing several social/Olympic Trials related things in the next two days in addition to work, exercise and packing so I just want to give enough time to all of those things, especially packing and feeling like we leave the house in an organize manner and don’t just chuck everything in the car and GO! 🙂

  2. Jen

    First off, I love the idea of a fresh slate! I can’t speak for everyone, but I know when I think about resolutions or changes I hope to make, I always think about New Years. So, the fact that I don’t have to wait til January 1st to make a change- and can actually make a new change every week is pretty powerful!

    I will answer #4- What do I have to be careful of?
    – Losing my patience
    – Getting enough sleep
    – Thinking before I speak (even if I’m just venting). Once you say something or type it, it’s pretty hard to take it back.

    Great blog Heather- thank you!!

  3. What am I excited about this week? That on Wednesday I return to wine country for the 4th year in a row 😉 I love that you don’t have a busy week this week, that is always ALWAYS something to embrace!!

  4. This is a really positive way to start the week, I love it. Looking forward to trying it. Actually, it is a really positive thing to do any day when you just feel like you can’t handle the weight of the world!

  5. Mamacita

    I actually enjoy Sunday evenings because we often read out on the deck – Dad has his CME journals and I read my New York Times. Nice way to relax before Monday morning rolls around. Good post as it is important to start the work week on a positive note.

    Love, Mamacita

Let's Hear It!

