Goods from Good Life Farm: Squash & Greens

In our recent hauls from the good people at Good Life Farm, we’ve been spoiled with a variety of greens* (not just the kind that shock me), summer squash, beets, onions of all types, snow peas and even a pint of blueberries. My fridge may be accumulating a layer of organic soot – try as we might to clean, it’s inevitable with each unloading – but it’s also loving the fresh summer farm flavors!

*Romaine, butter lettuce, kale & mustard greens.

For this week’s good eats:

mahi mahi marinade

 Broiled Mahi Mahi with Squash & Greens

Homemade Fish Marinade:
3 Tbsp E.V. Olive Oil
1/4 cup Red Wine Vinegar
Dried Thyme & Basil

Whisk everything together in a small bowl. Place fish in a baking dish and pour over. Let marinade for ~30 minutes. Salt & Pepper to taste. Sprinkle chives on top.

Set oven to broil & bake for ~4-6 minutes on each side – this will vary by how strong your broil setting is! We have a gas stove, and I put the fish down near the middle rack.

Meanwhile – sauté yellow squash lightly in oil and steam kale leaves.

Easy as that! The vegetable flavors are all natural, and the fish holds its own next to them. Dinner is served:

summer squash & greens

With cooked vegetables, I take all leftovers and put them right into a “salad” of sorts for lunch the next day.

This greens+squash mixture went nicely with avocado pieces, quinoa and some added fresh chives & kale greens for volume & nutrients.

CSA squash & greens lunch

—–

What’s fresh in your fridge right now?

5 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, groceries, lunches, Nutrition, recipes

5 responses to “Goods from Good Life Farm: Squash & Greens

  1. What a delicious and healthy dinner!

  2. I love mahi mahi – and the fact that it takes seasonings so well.
    It’s also just fun to say.

  3. YUM! This looks like the perfect summer meal!! Fresh in my fridge – cherries!! I LOVE them in summer!!

  4. Fresh in my fridge is my Farmers Market supply from todays shop – spinach leaves, cherry tomatoes, figs, strawberries and many more bright and wonderful fruits! Love my fridge after my big shop 🙂

  5. It’s like I can smell this! mmm

    I have fruit coming out my ears right now – and I like it!

Let's Hear It!

