Cross-Country Weekend: San Diego Days

Over the long holiday {Memorial} weekend, my little Sister and I executed a plan that was eloquently made months ago, after a few fruity umbrella-topped drinks in Hawaii. It was time to take a weekend trip, together, to wherever we felt like going! Or, to a destination in which the airfare from Albuquerque & DCA were comparable.

After some searching, it turned out that would be the California coast.

Downtown San Diego water view

We spent four days exploring the city streets and beaches of San Diego. Immediately after landing I felt refreshed to be out  West – the strong southern sun will always hit the spot. Open spaces, water-front views, palm trees and that true Mexican cuisine? This combination woes me in every way.

Ferry to Coronado
Coronado Beachbeach buddies
On the ferry from downtown San Diego over to Coronado Island. We walked straight to Hotel Del Coronado, where we’ve stayed before with the parents, and onto the beach.

Hotel Del Coronado signHotel Del CoronadoHotel Del Coronado front

Below – our favorite eats: fish tacos at Rockin’ Baja (Gaslamp District), one of the best iced coffees I’ve had to date (saying a lot, from a non-coffee snob) and the “Health Nut” omelet at Zanzibar cafe, and dinner at The Linkery (too dark for photos, but well worth the cab drive to North Park!).

San Diego fish tacosChips n' Salsa bar
Zanzibar Cafe Omelet
Zanzibar Cafe iced coffeeZanzibar Cafe San Diego

The trip consisted mostly of rest and relaxation, with a lot of walking miles and a few miles on the run. We explored the mercado  in Old Town and the trails of Balboa Park, and dined only on the recommendations of the locals.

Balboa Park gardenBalboa Park Run

——-

California, you’re a dream. Thanks for a weekend get-away and some much-needed sunshine!

Next time I head west, it’ll be with D & the whole fam, in the state we call home.
July, hurry up!

What’s on deck for your next trip? If I could spend my life traveling, I would! Until then, I’ll settle for these types of long-weekend getaways and also live vicariously through you.

13 Comments

Filed under family, things that make me Happy, travel, weather love, weekends

13 responses to “Cross-Country Weekend: San Diego Days

  1. Love the look of that omelet with so much avocado! Sounds like there’s a great food scene!

  2. Looks like an amazing trip – I would do just about anything in the world for some time with my sisters, there’s nothing in the world quite as awesome 🙂

  3. That sounds like an awesome weekend, and the fish taco looks to yummy.
    I’d love to spend some time in California. From the good weather, to active lifestyle, to healthy food, it seems incredible.
    I, too, would spend my life travelling. If I won the lottery, I wouldn’t buy a mansion and nice car. I’d travel the world! Until then, weekend getaways and two weeks a year will do just fine!

  4. Ah, fun! Looks like great weather and that food – YUM. Our next trip will be San Francisco for my brother’s wedding at the end of June and then a trip to the midwest to visit the manfriend’s family. I’m really looking forward to both.

  5. Lauren

    Such a fun sisters trip!! Definitely going to be an annual thing from now on! Can’t wait to see you again in July!

  6. Love that you had a sister trip! And way to eat your way around the local dives!

  7. When will you be back in NM? I’m there July 10-22! I CANNOT wait to see the NM sun! That is awesome you and your sister had a sib-cation! SD is really nice.

  8. I’m so glad you had a great time! I was with you in your kitchen when you booked the flight. 🙂 Southern California certainly has a draw. I stayed at the Del once for a wedding over New Year’s Eve – what a cool place! and love that you took dining recs from the locals. that omelet looks incredible. as for us. not sure about the next flight – we’ll have some weekend getaways from NYC this summer, and we’re keeping our eyes peeled for “cheap” flights to London at some point…

  9. You honestly looked liked you had such a fabulous, active, refreshing time. I think it’s awesome you got to travel with your sister.

    San Diego was a place I frequented a lot as the kid, the best zoos, beaches, etc. Glad you ate up all the CA sun!

    Big summer for you?! WOW!

  10. What an amazing idea with your sister! So glad you had a great time. I’d love to see California!

  11. Mamacita

    What a wonderful weekend for the two of you; the pics are so cute. Coronado Island is the best!!! Love, Mamacita

  12. I’ve never been to San Diego, but I would love to go sometime! I’m heading to Vermont in a couple weeks….should be fun!

  13. I love San Diego!! Looks ilke such a good escape from DC!

Let's Hear It!

