Broad Street Bound

I’ve avoided the Army 10-miler for three years in a row, mostly due to the rumored crowds and it’s proximity to MCM (usually two weeks apart). As the Cherry Blossom races proves to me, time and again, 10 miles doesn’t really allot the distance to weave and dodge thousands of runners all heading in the same direction.

Logic told me to join Ivan, Epod & Kate in their Broad Street 10-miler registration – a mid-Spring mid-distance race in a new-to-me race city? Count me IN.

…it’s one of the largest 10-milers in the country? Huh?

This was news to me, which only proves I don’t do a lot of (any?) research before clicking “Sign me up!”.

broad street 10 miler logo

Word around the blog world is that this race is flat and PR-friendly, so there’s a huge plus. It also seems to be very popular among the locals, the site crashed on registration day, and I got in via the “overflow” lottery. So, there’s something appealing here! I’ll find out what it is, soak it up, and get back to you on that.

It’s been a long time since we’ve traveled for a race; I’m looking forward to running unfamiliar streets, being surrounded by speedy strangers and checking the new-10-mile PR box!

Who else is racing this weekend? I know there’s a big marathon happening across the border, and a much smaller one happening in our backyard!

Good luck to all of you tackling the endurance side of things this weekend – run strong, and stay hydrated!

12 Comments

Filed under Races, running, weekends

12 responses to “Broad Street Bound

  1. You know, when we signed up for this, it seemed like it was soooo far away. I feel slightly under-prepared now. But I do love the fact that it’s ever-so-slightly downhill for the majority of the race.

  2. The Pittsburgh marathon is this weekend! I’m not running but definitely supporting my friends who are! 🙂

  3. Destination races are always fun! I’m sure it will live up to the expectations. Have a great trip + race!

  4. Ah, we’ll be in the same city! I was thinking about heading over to cheer… Good luck!

  5. Yay for race weekends! My fourth half marathon is this Sunday! I can’t wait 🙂

  6. Have fun this weekend! I ran Broad Street last year, it was a great race.

  7. Butterflies already! You are a machine – shows what your body can do when you take as awesome care of it as you do. Whoop!

  8. I’ve heard so many great things about Broad St., have a blast girl!!!

  9. Sounds like a fun weekend planned. Good luck!
    No races for me, but hopefully I’ll get in a good training run!

  10. Have a blast! Trail 1/2 marathon for me tomorrow! 🙂

  11. you didn’t post the elevation profile! it looks like this: WHEEEEEEEEEEE! have a blast!

  12. Pingback: A “Whoa” Weekend

Let's Hear It!

