Wisdom from the WWW

I’ve been hushed by Tuesday night’s {free} Bootcamp workout at the the lululemon Georgetown store; Sgt. Ronald took payment in the form of sweat, maxed heart rates, muscles worked and lactic acid dished out in full. Kate & I will certainly be back for more, once we can walk & run without waddling again.

On my off days, I read. My current nightstand companion is All the Money in the World, teaching me a few lessons in how to play offense, spend mindfully and get myself across the pond sooner than later.

Online, I’ve found these gems worth passing along:

Live Every Day Like You Travel
via Tiny Buddha

As travelers, we often take a step back and let our new surroundings teach us a thing or two about a thing or two. We open our minds to new possibilities; we relax, remembering that the world still spins when we aren’t worrying about and completing daily mundane tasks. We explore, learn, pause and breathe.

Oh how the days, weeks and months in between would be different if we had that traveling mentality more often.

Take a Cheat Day

via Greatist.com

First, note the absence of the word “binge”. While you may find balance and intuitive eating more of a mindset than a daily choice – or in some cases, a struggle – there is still something to be said for the indulgences we enjoy. Asking me to “give up” dark chocolate may as well be like telling me to stop running. 1) I won’t. 2) There goes my balance. On a plant-based diet, I feel like I get my fair share of nutrients everyday, and then some. Add a piece of dark chocolate, for antioxidants? No, because I love that bitter sweetness. Balanced.

Life is short; eat well, exercise often, and find your balance. This article provides insight into the science of the off/”cheat”-days.

10 Health Mistakes You’re Making Right Now, because You Think You’re Too Busy

via Huffington Post

Starting in January, I was back on a 9-5 schedule for the first time in well over a year. Yes, I had obviously been working, but not necessarily in that norm. It was surely an adjustment, but my routine adapted fairly well to a few tweaks. Here, there may be fewer posts, more “quick n’ healthy” recipes, and a week where yoga just happens at home, not in a studio. But no major life changes have ever proven to rock my priorities. My sanity thanks the priority-setting side of my brain for that.

You’re not too busy. Here are 10 points to shake you back into shape.

——
What have you been reading lately? Feel free to share some www .cm wisdom!

5 Comments

Filed under food, good days, in the News, learning, things that make me Happy

5 responses to “Wisdom from the WWW

  1. I LOVE the concept of living everyday as a travel day – really taking it all in, vs. rushing right on by the little things in our days. So easy to do in the hustle and bustle, but that’s not a good excuse to rush through life, not at ALL. Great tidbits today lady!

  2. love these articles, and always appreciate when people share links. I’ve been so busy the past 1.5 weeks, and missing my regular daily/weekly reads. there are benefits to having days off during the week, but I think I’m ready for more of a 9-5 with my weekends off to play with Billy in NYC! and you know I’m with you on the dark chocolate/balance thing. wouldn’t want to live without that indulgence.

  3. Thanks for sharing the links to these articles — I really enjoyed reading them. Keep them coming!

Let's Hear It!

