Black, Green & Red Stuffed Peppers

I had my first date with a homemade stuffed pepper last night; it made quite a first impression, as most South-westerners do.

Aptly inspired by Alysa’s “Simple Stuffed Pepper” recipe, I immediately wondered why these had never seen the inside of my oven. They’re delicious. I would order them in a restaurant. I know exactly what I would put in my own version.

WHY have I not made these before?!

Also, why has no one figured out how to grow green chiles in the Northeast?? (Ya know, in these dry, arid conditions up here…) I can’t keep basil alive, therefore I’m not putting a favorite spice at the mercy of my green thumb. But seriously, someone?

No answer to those mind-boggling inquiries yet, but we do have a DOTR-highly-recommended Vegetarian-friendly dinner to show for the efforts.

Quinoa Bean mixturePeppers before baking

Black, Green & Red {Quinoa} Stuffed Peppers
for two

2 Large bell peppers (color is totally up to you)
1/2 Avocado, sliced
3/4 cup (cooked) black beans, rinsed
1/4 cup diced green chiles (find ‘em where you can! TJs carries the Hatch brand.)
1/4 cup diced red onion
1 tsp oil (canola or olive)
3/4 cup cooked Quinoa*
2 Tbsp shredded cheese – optional
Cayenne pepper, salt/pepper

*I cooked one cup (dry) of quinoa, so I had plenty of leftovers, and just used 3/4 cup for this. While it was cooking, I added a dash of cayenne & black pepper to the water for flavoring. Optional: cook in low-sodium vegetable broth.

Preheat oven to 400*.

Heat oil over medium; add onions, green chiles and black beans. Season to taste. Heat through; add in quinoa and stir to mix well (see photo above).

Prepare the peppers – cut around the top edge, take off the “lid”  and remove the seeds (like when you carve pumpkins! Exactly the same thing.). Stuff with quinoa and black bean mixture (I put about 1/2 cup + an extra spoonful in each, with a little bit leftover), and top with cheese.

Place the lid back on top. Bake in a small glass dish (helps prevent tipping over) for 30-35 minutes, until peppers are soft.

baked stuffed red pepper

Please excuse the iPhone photos.

Once they’re done, slice up an avocado garnish and grab your utensils – fork + knife. Dig in! You’ll wonder where this easy, vegetable-centered, high-protein dish has been.

14 Comments

Filed under dinners, Meatless Monday, recipes

14 responses to “Black, Green & Red Stuffed Peppers

  1. Mmm stuffed peppers are a fave of mine for sure. I love the idea of stuffing ’em with quinoa instead of rice. Don’t worry about the iPhone photos… every last picture on my blog was taken with an iPhone! Maybe I shouldn’t go around telling people that…

  2. Those peppers look like giants in the little glass dish! Tasty giants.

    We actually have almost a full box of quinoa that’s just sitting in the cupboard. Maybe it’s time we used it…

  3. I made stuffed peppers once before – loved them, and love the versatility! I’ll have to give your version a try. Nice touch with avocado on the side!

  4. I can’t even keep a spider plant alive, basil is way too advanced. And the canned green chiles aren’t horrendous, but they’re not even close to the same!

  5. Love stuffed bell peppers. They are a regular in my weekly meal rotation. I also love eating bell peppers (usually green) whole as a snack, literally just biting in to them as if they were an apple. Odd, I know, but I am addicted to them right now!

  6. It seems so simple! How have I not done this before?

  7. This looks sooo good! A good twist on the usual stuffed pepper. Must try it!

  8. yum yum! I love making stuffed bell peppers. So easy, versatile and cute to boot!

  9. Wait—why haven’t I made these before now? Maybe I was subconsciously waiting for you to tell me how to …

  10. i think you are the queen of black beans. Really! good stuff happening here.

  11. Sounds delish! I love making stuffed poblanos! 🙂

  12. Mmmmm. These look SO yummy! This is definitely dinner tomorrow. Pinned it 🙂

Let's Hear It!

