The Other Green Spice: Jalapenos in Pasta & Bean Burgers

If you see something green and spicy in this kitchen, it’s typically of New Mexican roots. The green chile is dear to the heart of my taste buds, but occasionally we branch out. And when TJ’s obliges, we have fresh jalapenos ready to spice things up!

Sweet potato jalapeno and onion slices

Saturday’s 10-mile run left little energy in any form – coming home after the group coffee date and waiting on the Metro left my stomach demanding fuel. I immediately went for something easy – oatmeal? cereal? yogurt?

Ah, that would be quick, but not satisfying. An inner monologue convinced me that slicing a few things and adding an ounce of creativity would go further in terms of satiety and nutrients. I like to add something green to most meals – a pop of color, a dose of extra vitamins & minerals – and this time, the jalapeno stepped up.

sweet potato and jalapeno pasta

Spicy Jalapeno & Sweet Potato Pasta Mix

1 small sweet potato – peeled & cubed

1 small jalapeno – sliced, seeds in, if you so desire

Yellow onion slices – measurement depends on how much you like sliced, sautéed onion

1/2 Tbsp Olive oil

Linguine noodles, cooked
Seasonings: cumin, black pepper, BBQ sauce (all optional)

Cook noodles; drain and set aside. Meanwhile, heat oil over medium. Add sweet potatoes and cook for 1-2 minutes (stir frequently); add in onions and jalapeno slices. Saute until onion & sweet potato are softened / cooked through. Stir to avoid burning. Season to taste.

Combine it all together, drizzle with some spicy BBQ sauce (or don’t – that’s up to you and how much you love a spicy BBQ flavor…). Grab a fork, and enjoy!


Next up: a Superbowl Burger night! Veg-head style.

Jalapeno Black bean burgers

Black Bean & Jalapeno Veggie Burgers

This is the easiest veggie burger I’ve made yet, and the texture far surpasses anything I’ve done in the past. I simplified the tactic, and am baffled that I haven’t bypassed the Food Processor before.

1 can (15 oz) black beans, rinsed
1-2 small jalapeno peppers, chopped (seed if you choose)
1/4 c red onion, diced
1/4 c whole-wheat flour
Seasonings: black pepper, ground cumin (optional)
Toppings: fresh avocado and/or tomato slices, sharp cheddar or pepper-jack cheese (any or all of the above would work!)

Heat oven to 425*. In a small bowl, mash the black beans with a fork until most beans are split/smashed. Stir in jalapeno, onions & flour. Season to taste.

Forms 4 patties. Bake for 8-10 minutes; flip and cook an additional 5-7 minutes (should be solid and cooked through, slightly crispy on the outside).

Voila! Easy as that. No machinery to clean; no fancy appliances needed. Just a simple burger to enjoy alongside some homemade sweet potato fries…or, your side of choice.


Jalapenos made a bold statement here – we may welcome them to the dinner table more often!

What’s your spice of choice?

8 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, recipes

8 responses to “The Other Green Spice: Jalapenos in Pasta & Bean Burgers

  1. Get in my face! This have the perfect amount of heat. Looks so good! One of my faves I think I’ll have to say.

    Cayenne, it’s wicked hot but so good!

  2. Ohhh I love jalepenos, or anything spicy for that matter! I have got to try these veggie burgers, they look so yummy!! I wonder if I could add lentils too? I have been dying to make my own forever now and you may have spurred me to finally do it!

  3. Emily

    I’m pretty scared of jalapenos and other hot peppers (and spicy things in general, I have to be really cautious with the cayenne), but burgers sound like a really good way to use them! I’m adding that to my veggie burger rotation.

  4. I’m a huge fan of spicy food. The pasta dish sounds so good as it combines my favorite flavors with sweet potato, BBQ, and heat! 🙂

  5. um, those burgers, wow! get in my belly!

  6. My fave veggie/bean burgers are the ones that you just mash together. The texture is sooo much better!

  7. I’ve only made my own veggie burgers once and they weren’t that good think cause of lack of seasoning, I love chinese five spice, cumin, and garam massala love adding it to rice.

  8. Mamacita

    Looks so tasty. Love the green veggies of the southwest. I want to try one of your spicy veggie burgers.

    Love, Mamacita

Let's Hear It!

