Sauté: Pile the Pizza

I blame the current streak of continuing to cook and create in the kitchen entirely on Betty. It’s her fault; I think she wears that accusation proudly.

The things we’ve been dining on aren’t exactly Betty-style recipes (but they’re D-approved, so that counts for something). Yet, apparently when I open and read a cookbook, suddenly my hands start chopping and the water starts boiling, the seasonings just jump right in, and minutes later we have something worth calling a meal!

Yep. It’s that easy.

The first example of this happened on Saturday night, when I had a few hours to myself at home and a lot of ingredients that needed some attention. See: Roasted Cauliflower & Leeks with Arugula Pesto.

Next up: filling the it’s-been-too-long-since-homemade-pizza! void.


IMG_0273

Sautéed Mushroom, Fennel & Cherry Tomato Pizza

1/2 fennel bulb, chopped
1 c sliced mushrooms
1/2 c cherry tomatoes, halved
1 Tbsp olive oil
Pizza dough*
Marinara / Pizza Sauce
Shredded Mozzarella Cheese
Freshly grated Parmesan Cheese (optional, but recommended!)
Dried oregano (or fresh, if you’re fancy)

*We used the garlic & herb dough from TJ’s. Two thumbs up!
Always leave fresh dough out for 20-60 minutes before rolling and forming into something resembling a circle. It’s much easier to work with when it’s at room temperature.

Preheat the oven according to the dough’s needs – in this case it was 425* (if I remember correctly). Meanwhile, prep the veggies (chop, wash, rinse) and heat the oil over medium in a sauté pan. Start with the fennel, and add in the mushrooms after 2-3 minutes. Season with salt/pepper to taste, and dried oregano. Stir frequently to prevent burning; sauté until they’re both softened. For the last minute, add in the cherry tomatoes.

Roll out the dough, top with sauce and shredded mozzarella. Add a generous layer of the fennel, mushroom & tomato mixture. Top with freshly grated parmesan. Bake for 8-9 minutes (or until dough is cooked through and the cheese is melted).

IMG_0275
IMG_0277

The “licorice-onion” takes a mild flavor turn when cooked and mixed with some friends. The combination of these three, plus the bonus of sautéing to get the best texture out of them all was a complete success. We dined happily!

13 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, in the kitchen, lunches, recipes

13 responses to “Sauté: Pile the Pizza

  1. Mamacita

    This pizza looks very tasty. I may have to buy some dough at TJ’s next weekend. Good job – nice spins on Betty’s recipes.
    Love, Mamacita

  2. I could eat pizza, with different veggie toppings, every single day. yup.

  3. also, stop using pre-made dough, you heathen!

  4. and i bet D isn’t complaining to betty. hehe. this looks wonderful. Licorice mushrooms? where or where do i buy?

    • Heather C

      Ha, no (that’d be interesting, though!) – I call fennel the “licorice onion”, because it has a very distinct flavor to it (which is muffled a little bit by cooking)…

  5. MMM… I think I may just have to make pizza tonight or tomorrow night. Seriously. And TJ’s pizza crust is amazing and cheap. LOVE it. I also love Eat Live Run’s dough recipe, but it sorta kinda broke my kitchenaid stand mixer so I’m afraid to go back to it. I guess I’ll just to have to knead the dough by hand next time.

    I made meatloaf per the manfriend’s request for last night’s din din and felt very Betty Crocker. I mean, who eats meatloaf these days? Granted, I added extra onion, pepper and carrot so it was extra delish, but still. Makes me feel old. Ha.

    • Heather C

      Hah, well needless to say it’s been a LONG time since I’ve had meatloaf. It does have sort of a “country home” stigma, hah. But I’m sure it was tasty!

  6. “licorice-onion” that is a great way to describe it! and that’s certainly is no delivery! it’s dietitian-o! homemade pizza is one of my fave things bc you can pile it with loads of veggies.

  7. Yum! 🙂 We have had homemade pizza the past couple of nights and I just can’t get enough.

  8. Mmmmm, this looks tasty!

  9. I would say that the inspiration to COOK is a great ‘problem’ to have. 🙂

    That crust looks soo tasty, not to mention all of the ooey gooey veggie cheesy goodness on top. Yum!

Let's Hear It!

