Keep it Simple: Spread LOVE

This time of year seems anything but simple. We over-pack schedules (not to mention suitcases & holiday decorations); our senses are over-stimulated with lights, decorations, sales, etc, and our minds often overwhelmed with everything we “have” to do before the New Year rolls over.

The Positivity Blog posed a question today – Am I keeping things extremely simple?

The quick answer to that is usually nope, not at all. I run with a GPS watch; my phone blinks red when I have an e-mail, Facebook, Twitter, text or call notification; I keep track of my calendar online, and upload pictures with a chord or memory card  (oh the days when we had film that was developed…).

But! Some things are still simple. Refreshingly so.

The first thing that comes to mind when I think of simplicity? Food. It should be simple; no frills, nothing added or taken away, just leave it how it is.

And then, when you do go for a packaged item or two? Make it well worth your dollars & cents.

LGF Xmas Pkg 3
Cocoa Goodness LGF
LGF Xmas Pkg 7

Love Grown Foods keeps it simple, and I LOVE it.

Their ingredients look like this:

LGF ingredients

The packaging lets you know this:

FREE Of: Trans Fats, Artificial Flavors, Gluten, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Hydrogenated Oils, Preservatives & Genetically Modified Ingredients.”

Simple ingredients, simply made by people who love what they do!

*****

I received a holiday love package from the LGF pad – as part of their Blogger crew! – and I wanted to spread the Love to you, too!

{Ahem, Giveaway time!}

Up for grabs: 3 bags of Love!

Leave a comment to enter – What is “simple” for you?
And/or – what would you change, for simplicity?

For an extra entry – go leave some LOVE for them, too!

{{Entries will “close” Tuesday, January {whoa} 3, at midnight. }}
U.S. Residents only, please.

*****

Happy New Year’s weekend!

31 Comments

Filed under food, Giveaway, things I Love

31 responses to “Keep it Simple: Spread LOVE

  1. Lia

    I love Love Grown granola and would love to win some! One way of keeping things simple for me is staying organized and to minimize the number of unnecessary possessions. When I’m organized and my apartment isn’t filled with clutter, I feel much more peaceful. Happy New Year!

  2. Simple to me is effortless happiness – it shouldn’t be a struggle to be happy! The only thing to change is just getting rid things in life that aren’t worth your time and effort (most likely because they don’t make you happy).

  3. K.W.

    There aren’t many things in my life that are simple… Even nature itself is quite complex. One thing that IS simple to me is the peace of mind and clarity I get from sitting on an empty beach listening to the waves with the sun on my neck, or watching the water run past me from high above on a rock at Great Falls… It is there that I forget all that is overwhelming in life and can clear my head.

  4. it is sad that i’ve been sitting here trying to think of something that is simple to me.

    i have been trying to simplify my surroundings though. donating unnecessary and unused clothing and other items has been like a kind of scavenger hunt in my apartment – what do i have that i don’t need or use? it’s helping!

  5. I love Love Grown and it’s not sold nearby!

    Keeping it simple by staying in on NYE this year 🙂

  6. Simple for me is … not opening my computer at night and instead reading a magazine and lighting a good smelling candle.

    What would I change for simplicity? I think the one thing I will try to do in 2012 is stop always looking at the LOFT or wherever. It’s a waste of time and money. Sure, I love the pieces I buy, but I don’t need all of them. I’d rather make a few bigger purchases than all these little ones I don’t care too much about and spend that precious time doing something more fun and fulfilling.

  7. JJ

    All the technologies you mentioned, while not simple, allow me to work from home 75% of the time, which does keep things simple. Less lunch packing, dry cleaning work clothes, missing kid school events, etc. I’ll take it!

  8. Simple is running outside!

  9. Harley

    I keep health simple: eat nutritiously, get that daily dose of exercise in, hydrate with water, and spend time doing the things that matter to me!

  10. Simple is having few priorities but big ones… and then ignoring anything that doesn’t matter. Right now, a nap is in order!

    Oh yeah, I went to show them some LOVE!

  11. Simple is being flexible enough to listen to what you need and want (and sometimes that means missing things you had planned to do and sometimes it means turning off the computer and getting your butt outside for a run even if it is cold)

  12. Vanessa

    Simple to me is showing others you love and care for them. It can be as simple as a hug, a thank you, or a simple sweet gesture such as making him/her a sweet treat. I’d love to win because I love granola and haven’t got to try Love Grown granola.

  13. Jordan

    Peanut Butter n Jelly. Simple. But irresistable!!

  14. Simple – the perfect hug from my husband or my kids. Happy New Year!

  15. Simple to me is cuddling on the couch with my husband 🙂

  16. Melanie

    Simple is not sweating the small stuff, as they say.

  17. Simple is to enjoy the new year. 🙂 Happy New Year.

  18. I’ve never tried Love Grown Foods, but they look delicious and I’d love to.
    With four little boys running around my house nothing ever seems simple, but we made a decision to take this season off sports and have some quiet time at home. Not having to run to three practices during the week and three games on the weekends (the littlest is too little for sports yet), has made things much simpler. Honestly our big boys don’t even seem to miss it. They’re enjoying the family time just as much as we are.

  19. Simple to me means living consciously and sustainably – treading lightly on this Earth and being grateful for everything she continues to give us.
    Best to you in 2012!
    – Veronica

  20. I showed some LOVE on LGF’s Facebook page!
    – Veronica

  21. something simple – running naked – no garmin, no ipod, no stopwatch – just you and the road. Its a nice time to relax and reflect

    Things I would change for more simplicity – breaks from technology; a break from having my phone on me 24/7, checking emails, etc.

  22. Simple for me is being aware of and consciously resisting the pull to consumerism and being content with what I have, using what I have, and focusing on family. I would love to be less addicted to technology! Would also love Love Grown granola! 🙂

  23. Happy New Year! I have bookmarked that blog, how positively amazing. I hope 2012 brings dozens of new challenges and accomplishments for you. You continue to spread joy, love and loads of motivation.

  24. This looks delicious, and also made me hungry to go eat lunch now.

  25. leah

    I’ve never tried their stuff but would love to! Simple for me cooking wise is using things I already have on- hand in my kitchen (which right now post holidays could be pretty much impossible!)

  26. ali

    I live my life simply….. simple but yummy food,…simply staying active, running, biking and yoga… not too much STUFF, all my belongings can fit in my car 🙂 and simply doing what i love…. and i love granola 🙂

  27. Pingback: Simple Note: Love Grown Foods Winner! | Dietitian on the Run

  28. whats your facebook profile?

  29. Lauren

    Awwhh I have been working so much lately I haven’t had time to read your blog! I missed the contest 😦 I am old school and the easiest way for me to keep things simple and make sure I get everything done that I need to is to sit in complete silence and write down everything I am thinking about and need to get done. I check things off as I get them done. Feels great to see a list with all checkmarks! 😀

Let's Hear It!

