Homemade Baked Veggie Eggrolls

If anyone has a tip or two on rolling an eggroll, I’m all ears. Me and my “I’m the master at rolling burritos – bring it on, egg paper thing!” attitude did not get very far last night. But don’t you worry, the quality of the folded and tucked corners has got nothing on the flavor packed {loosely} within.

12.14.11 014

I had leftover “egg roll wraps” (which I found at the small organic food market across the street) – the Nasoya brand “contains no msg, is perishable, has no genetically engineered ingredients” and is “easy to use!”. Sure, I’ll take a package of those!

Actually, these were picked up as a substitute for Won-ton wraps during an experiment last week. Heads up – the two shouldn’t be swapped. It wasn’t my finest moment, but it did the trick for one night.

Anyway, what to do with remaining wraps? Read the directions more carefully. Gather up some vegetables, and use them for their intended purpose!

Homemade Baked Veggie Eggrolls (makes 2-3 servings)

1 portabella mushroom cap
2 large raw carrots – washed, peeled & cut into small pieces
2 cups cabbage, sliced
1/4 c chives, chopped
Optional: faux sausage, scrambled eggs, or other lean protein
1 tsp Low-sodium soy sauce
Salt, pepper, garlic powder (or fresh garlic)  to taste
6 eggroll wraps
1-2 Tbsp Canola oil

Heat the oven to 350* (or as directed by the package).

In a food processor, add chopped carrots and pulse until grated. Add portabella mushroom cap (break into a few pieces), soy sauce and salt/pepper. Pulse until combined (see the bowl to the right in above photo).

If using a protein, saute in {fresh or dried} garlic & 1 tsp oil.

Prep the baking sheet with cooking spray. Lay down the egg roll wrap and layer 1 handful of cabbage, protein, carrot & mushroom mixture & top with chives (see above photo). Hint: Place the filling diagonally, because you’ll tuck in the corners, similar to an envelope. Fold/roll/tuck as well as you can into the eggroll shape, and dust the top with oil (generously, so the wrap doesn’t dry out while baking).

Bake for 12-14 minutes (watch carefully, you want a light brown, crisp top).

12.14.11 016
12.14.11 018

Also optional: top with a drizzle of spicy BBQ sauce! Or, if you think that goes against the cultural dish you just created, opt for another fitting dip (soy sauce, sweet n’ sour, etc).  Your kitchen, your rules!

*****

This was a fun dish to switch things up – it was my first run, and I know we’ll be grabbing those wraps again. The filling options are endless, and they were quite tasty!

14 Comments

Filed under dinners, new things!, recipes

14 responses to “Homemade Baked Veggie Eggrolls

  1. Mmm. 🙂 Eggrolls are awesome–I would love to try this baked recipe! Such a good idea!

  2. Look at you! Instead of running, you’re woking. zing!

    Seriously the flavor is what counts, I will not judge the packaging. MMM. Healthier too. These might have to make it to my kitchen, if only I could find ingredients!

  3. These egg rolls sound great. Would anyone know what the ingredients are for the wraps that are used?

  4. this sounds HARD. give me a squash any day.

  5. Can’t say I’ve ever rolled an egg roll, but I’m pretty good with tortillas, too. :p

    You and your BBQ sauce… it’s like me and ketchup. I’ll put the stuff on just about anything.

  6. This looks delish! Thanks for mentioning Nasoya in your post.

    You can find out more about our egg roll wraps here: http://www.nasoya.com/products/asian-style-egg-rolls.html

  7. I LOVE egg rolls and it would be fun to try to make them! Although sometimes I think they’re one of those things that are just easier to buy…haha.

    • Heather C

      Hah, that is definitely true. But now I’m pretty determined to get them perfected! Especially since I know I just have to walk across the street to pick up the “rolls”….

  8. those almost look like little quesadillas! which i like too! youre getting more creative in the kitchen each day friend.

  9. WHOA! No egg roll advice, just advice about what else to do with that amazing-looking filling (besides the obvious “Bring it to Amy’s house so she can devour it”): Lasagna filling, veggie wrap filling, straight-up as a dip with pita chips … the possibilities are endless, and I’ll definitely be trying some of these!

    • Heather C

      You’re right! That filling could definitely be used for a variety of things 🙂 Let me know if you get more creative with it – I’ll be all ears!

  10. The trick to rolling egg rolls is less filling and roll tightly. But do what works for you. And what is the issue you had with using them as wonton wraps? because often the only difference is the size, if I am not mistaken. I do need to try some baked egg rolls — I have been leaning toward the uncooked spring rolls (in rice paper) to avoid the frying.

    • Heather C

      When we made the “Wontons” ( I use the term loosely, as I didn’t really know what I was doing 🙂 ), the tops got very dry & it seemed like there was too much dough for each one. I assumed the eggroll wraps were slightly bigger than a wonton-specific product would be. Might be wrong about that, though…?

      • The wonton wraps, if you get the square ones and not the round ones are about a quarter of the size — so if you try it again just cut them in quarters (wontons are just tiny bites all the better for eating more).

Let's Hear It!

