Spinach Tortellini with Squash n’ Shrooms

After two days of vacationing, I think it’s about time these pages feed you a recipe. We had an interesting time shopping for the weekly goods at Trader Joe’s on Saturday – a refreshing reminder that when food isn’t shipped 1,000 miles over the ocean, it is so reasonably priced! Whew.

Without a list, there were some new random items that dove right into the cart. TJ’s has a way of making you think you need everything you’ve never heard of or purchased before. Hello, Spinach Tortellini! You look simple, savory and satisfying. Welcome to my kitchen!

A lone butternut squash survived the week of vacation absence – those things are very resilient, which makes them a top-notch vegetable in my {procrastinator’s} book. After my arm-workout for the night, it was ‘peeled’, chopped & ready for roasting!

Combine the two things above, and start creating…

Spinach Tortellini, with Squash & Mushrooms
Makes 2-3 servings     Prep Time: 15 minutes*
Total Cook Time: 45-50 minutes

1 butternut squash
1 – 1.5 c mushrooms, sliced
1 package TJ’s Spinach Tortellini (or other brand)
This package contained “about 2 servings”
2 tsp Olive Oil
Seasonings: cinnamon, nutmeg, pepper
Fresh parmesan cheese, grated**

*This is entirely dependent on your arm strength & how stubborn your squash is.
**Yes, buy the fresh kind from the deli! It’s worth it.

Prep: Heat the oven to 375*. Heat the entire squash in the microwave for ~2 minutes – this softens it up and gets it ready for the knife (thanks for this tip, Katie / Emily). Slice it lengthwise, scoop out the seeds & then ‘peel’ the outer layer off. Chop into bite-size pieces.

Place on a cookie sheet, season to taste & roast for ~40 minutes (stir around 20 min).

Meanwhile, sauté the mushrooms in Olive oil & cook tortellini according to directions (cook in boiling water for 2-3 minutes). Simple as that!

Combine everything, sprinkle pepper to taste & grate fresh parmesan over the top.

11.30.11 004

I almost forgot how delicious those little stuffed pasta rings are. If only I had the patience  (ahem, skills) to create, stuff and roll them myself! Thankfully TJ’s provides the convenient alternative.

There’s no doubt that this dish will be a repeat offender – savory & veg-full!

*****

What’s cooking in your kitchen this week?

After eating fish almost more than once per day for seven days straight, we’re on a mission to mix it up a little bit!

11 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, groceries, recipes

11 responses to “Spinach Tortellini with Squash n’ Shrooms

  1. Their pastas are delicious! I love to amp them up with other ingredients too – otherwise it’s tough to get two servings out of a package!

  2. Emily

    Yum! I pretty much never shop at TJ but maybe I need to check it out.

    And yeah, the whole microwave the squash tip is clutch. I’m so much more willing to make squash dishes with how easy that makes peeling/chopping.

  3. I loooooooooove tortellini, especially stuffed with goodness like spinach!

    I roasted myself a butternut squash this week and it turned out way too soft (in too long, I guess)… so I mashed it up! So yum!

  4. We made the squash again, on pizza, with eggplant, carmelized onions, gorgonzola and walnuts. HOOOLY COW.

  5. This meal sounds so delicious! I love mushrooms and tortellini, but I haven’t thought to combine them in a dish. There isn’t a TJs close to me. 😦 How about Whole Foods? Any good tortellini there maybe?

  6. MMMouth watering! This looks great. A big change from seafood for sure. I love that you teach me not to be intimidated in the kitchen:)

    After Thanksgiving, we are taking a break from everything, lol.

    • Heather C

      Ooh, I love that I teach you that, too! 🙂

      We’re in the opposite boat, we missed the “traditional” T-day stuff, so somebody has been craving Pie…

  7. Brilliant, brilliant brilliant re: putting the squash in the microwave first! I’ve been cooking/loving/obsessing about/cursing butternut squash for years, and somehow never thought of that. Thanks for the tip, and the awesome-looking recipe!

Let's Hear It!

