Plate Plan: The Travel Ahead

Friday night we leave for a seven day vacation in Hawaii (hard life, I know), which meant that Sunday morning I had to practice a little bit of self restraint at Trader Joe’s. I have no intention of throwing food away before we leave, and no desire to come home to a moldy, smelly fridge. The only plate “plan”? Think ahead!

What can we totally consume in 5 days?

One thing we are definitely stocked up on: Chobani yogurt! They sent over some of their new, big (whoop!) 32 oz containers; my kitchen is delighted. I love Chobani, no secret there. Now, I can buy  in bulk & save a few cents. Thanks, CHO!
Chobani yogurts Chobani yogurt 32 oz Chobani yogurt 32 oz recipe side

That will go bad. Therefore, we have a lot of yogurt consuming to do in 5 days!

Other things on the for the week, courtesy of TJ’s:

  • cauliflower
  • asparagus spears
  • Chili seasoned Tilapia (taco time!)
  • salad greens + veggies
  • bananas, apples, grapefruits & pears
  • Butternut squash
  • ricotta & mozzarella cheese
  • roasted red pepper hummus

With a host of things that will not expire on us while we’re gone, I have enough to creatively mix it up this week.

I also have a Recipe Redux challenge to tend to – a whole new grain will be featured, assuming I can figure out how to cook something other than quinoa (rice is out of the question).

All of this to say, I didn’t really plan entrees for the week ahead, but I do plan on that fridge staring at me with empty shelves before we leave.

What’s on your plate plan this week?

15 Comments

Filed under food, groceries, travel

15 responses to “Plate Plan: The Travel Ahead

  1. Hi Heather,

    Hope you enjoy your self in Hawi’i. I’ve heard from family members who have been there that it’s amazing!

    Also, I wanted to say thanks for a great blog. I enjoy reading your posts (especially race reports) and always seem to get great ideas from reading..which leads me to thank you for posting about the “Daily Challenge”…my sister and I have now signed on and really having a good time!

    Thanks again from a fellow Blogger,
    Megan

  2. P.S. I just noticed that butternut squash was on your menu this week…do you have a special way of preparing it? I have one sitting in my produce pile and am looking to make it this week 🙂

    Thanks!
    Megan

  3. I kind of love the challenge of emptying the fridge before vacation! Can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  4. We’re playing the “empty the fridge” game, too, considering we’re in Philly this weekend, and then back next week for Thanksgiving. I’m optimistic that we can squeeze a few more meals out before another trip to Teeter.

  5. Wowza – HAVE FUN! I’m so jealous of your vacay!

  6. Ah, I heart Trader Joes. I just recently saw the precut butternut squash and thought “that just might be worth it not to have to try to hack through one of those things.” I don’t know WHY they are SO hard for me to cut?!

    I have veggie chili in the crockpot for tonight! That’s about all I know for meals this week. 🙂

  7. Um, jealous of Hawaii.

    I’m having this same debate — with a trip home for Thanksgiving and the potential to move into my new apartment (!?!) soon, I need to find a way to eat something besides cereal while not wasting a ton of money or food. Hmm. The list so far looks similar to yours somehow 🙂

  8. Mamacita

    Ha yes Mamacita purchased produce to hopefully last thru Friday. I hate to waste strawberries and grapes. Next week we will enjoy fresh pineapple, etc. So looking forward to this vacation. Love, Mamacita

  9. Oh, I’m just so excited for you and your upcoming vacation! Can’t wait to see photos from Hawaii. I need to meal plan a little better lately – there’s a Whole Foods directly across the street from lululemon so the convenience means I go there far too often – sometimes twice in a day. We have some dinners out later this week, but we went to the grocery store today to stock up on produce, eggs, etc.

  10. Hawaii sounds fabulous. This week on my meal plan I made ahead some individual veggie + goat cheese pizzas and popped them in the freezer for easy meals after a long shift. I also have plans for some veggie fried rice and a tuna noodle casserole!

  11. Its operation clean the pantry time. We leave in 10 days! maybe we can make a pit stop in Hawaii.?? hehe.
    We are living off beans, eggs, toast, and salad these days. But i could sure use some tacos this week. I’m coming over.

  12. Husband is gone this week, so it’s me and the toddler. That means easy breezy meals. It’s back to PB and J and mostly vegetarian meals. Under normal circumstances when my husband is home, we make a family monthly costco trip to stock up on meats and other freezer-friendly items. I package them into family-size servings and freeze for use during the month. That way, we always have some on hand. But this week, we won’t be needing any!

  13. ALOHA! You are going to have a blast. Cannot wait to hear more!!!!!

    Hawaii is full of fresh fruit so go enjoy the locale fruits and veg.

    I’m crap at packing for a trip, i know i know….

    Yea vacay!

  14. Omg Hawaii will be AWESOME!

    I went grocery shopping before we left for Florida because my brother said he would eat it but then of course he didn’t, so I had to throw away a bunch of veggies when I got home last night. I was not happy!

Let's Hear It!

