Marine Corps Marathon : Goal Glory

It’s DONE. The Marine Corps Marathon weekend has come & gone, but that high is sticking around.

MCM Weekend 011 MCM before

The legs & I teamed up to grab that goal, run strong & see what was really possible. Limits were undoubtedly tested, and my pacer (ahem – run-buddy, friend & motivation) worked her usual magic.

The last 6.2 miles were some of the hardest I’ve run to date, but more on that when I have the capacity to write the recap.  For now, I’m letting my mind & legs rest. They worked hard; they accomplished a big goal – they took almost 20 minutes off of the existing PR – and they’re basking in the glory.

MCM Weekend 033MCM PR

Marine Corps Marathon – October 30, 2011

Chip time: 3:37:32*

A huge shout-out goes to all the Thanks & Congrats from yesterday – you guys never cease to support & amaze. Race recap to come…

******

*G’s timer started/stopped twice while I was walking through the Finisher’s corral – after which it occurred to me to lock the bezel + buttons.

The time above is the official result.

41 Comments

Filed under DC, fabulous, Goals, MCM, new things!, race report, running

41 responses to “Marine Corps Marathon : Goal Glory

  1. J

    CONGRATS!!! That is so awesome! Can’t wait to hear about it! Enjoy the rest – you deserve it!

  2. WHOA!! I had no idea you chopped 20 whole minutes from your last PR. You are an animal!!! SO proud of you!!!!!! Soak it all in, for as long as you can, so awesome!

  3. HUUUUUUUUUUUUUGE congrats! That is one enormous PR. Way to go out there and get it. I can’t wait for the report.

  4. i knew you’d PR that sucka!!

  5. You are such a rockstar! 🙂 So excited that you accomplished your goal and I can’t wait to hear the full recap!

  6. YOU ROCK! Amazing, kudos. I hope this runner’s high last for weeks. You deserve every bit of celebration. Great work, girl!

  7. That is so epic. CONGRATS!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can’t wait to read the full recap 🙂

  8. You are such a rockstar! I’m so happy for you and so proud of you. That’s a huge accomplishment!! 🙂 Soak it in, you deserve it!

  9. Amazing job! Congrats 🙂

  10. oh my gosh – that’s awesome!! congrats!

  11. WOW!!!!!! With 2 minutes to spare. Amazing and congrats.

  12. Awesome! Amazing day and a beautiful race! Great job!

  13. WOW! HUGE CONGRATULATIONS! 🙂 You went for it and you were totally right to do so – can’t wait to read all about it in depth.

  14. Ahhh!!!! SOOO PROUD OF YOU!!! Heather – you are an inspiration! Seriously, reading your recap last year when you went sub-4:00 made me realize I could do it too and now you have me thinking that 3:40 is possible. Thank you for always giving it your all and reminding me that I can too 🙂

  15. Congrats! And what a hardcore marathon name to say you’ve run too haha I love it.

  16. Sooooooooooooooooooooo proud of you girl!!!!!

  17. Congratulations! I think I might have seen you right before mile 26, but by the time I realized it, you had already flown by! 🙂

  18. You know how happy I am for you. And I love that you really did write in sharpie on your hand!

    Congrats again!

  19. Lauren

    Yay!!! This is so awesome 🙂 You are such an inspiration sister! You make me want to run another race so bad! However, Dustin asked if a full marathon was one of my goals in life because I kept talking about how proud I am of you…I said not yet 😉 hehe. Love you!

  20. And I click through the reader…..YESS!!! I’m so SO PUMPED!

  21. ROCK STAR!! CONGRATULATIONS on the HUGE PR–very exciting. Enjoy the post-race high. I’m hoping to see a similar time on my watch in January…

  22. Mamacita

    I love the note on your hand! Wow taking 20 minutes off your pr is amazing. We are so proud of you! Love, Mamacita

  23. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!! I am so so so proud of you! You are so fast!

  24. Awesome work Heather! Must feel good.
    Looking forward to seeing you and your triumphant “marathon hobble” today.

  25. That is AWESOME! Congrats girl! You worked hard and totally deserved this!! Can’t wait for the report!

  26. That is so, so wonderful! I got the chills looking at the message on your hand … I hope the heart of that message—BELIEVE—stays with you long after the post-race glow wears off!

  27. Awesome job! What a motivating post! 20 minutes off for PR?!?!?!?! Outta control!

  28. lizard151

    Fantastic! Many many many congratulations!

  29. jessgobananas

    congratulations! awesome time! 😀

  30. So proud of you, Heather! Truly inspirational to see you accomplish such an amazing goal. CONGRATS and bask in the runner’s high. 🙂

  31. Awesome. I bet you can’t stop smiling. I know I would be that way anyway.

  32. What a major PR!!! Major congrats!!!

  33. WOW! You are amazing. Congratulations!!:)

  34. SO FREAKING AWESOME!!!!!

  35. Pingback: 2011: The Loud Year | Dietitian on the Run

  36. Pingback: Mission 3:30:xx | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

