Do It Now! {3:39:59}

Alternatively titled – I might as well just go for it, right?

MCMConfirmation

When I registered for this race, I lived in Denver and would take almost any excuse to travel back to DC. I wanted to run these 26.2 miles specifically because the course seems to be a favorite of many; it runs through some of the best parts of my city. You become surrounded by tens of thousands of like-minded people – runners, spectators, volunteers – all out there to support, encourage & motivate everyone around them. Count me in!

I had intentions of training hard, sticking to every speed workout strategy and yup – I’ll admit it – I was totally going to use that I-trained-at-altitude advantage.

Fast forward 6 months – the unexpected twist? We moved. Adios, altitude & routine! Hello again, DC!

All of that to say that things clearly did not go as “planned” – geeze, when do they ever? How boring would that be?

The new routine; run with Kate, get used to running hills again, log the miles & just make sure the legs are ready for the day – done!

I decided on a goal that I thought was possible – 3:45:00.

10.28 014

VS. –

10.28 012

Then I re-read some posts – I remembered the original goal I set, and the gusto behind the words I wrote. I remembered a lesson learned from Kate, and was reminded of a manifesto that never fails (thanks, Dorry!) – DO IT NOW.

I may not have trained exactly how I wanted to, or had the “3:39” clock time burned into my brain every time I think about race day. But that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t go for it, right? Right.

Do it NowonethingadayNever Give Up

If I cross the finish line and feel like I could’ve gone faster, used more energy, or been stronger? It’s not worth it.

If I cross it and feel like I could collapse, because every ounce of energy I once had is now spread out over every single mile on that course? It’s  totally worth it.

A+ Goal = 3:39:59.

That’s all.

******

{Edited to add (Thanks, Marlene!): when I initially set the goal to “BQ”, the qualifying time was 3:40. It’s now 3:35 for my age group.}

Good luck, fellow racers & runners!

35 Comments

Filed under Goals, learning, making plans, MCM, Races, running buddy, training

35 responses to “Do It Now! {3:39:59}

  1. oh ya you do! i know you are ready to face the fear of time…3:39 all the way!

  2. I SO wish I could be there to cheer you on! I know you’re going to run fast and strong, giving it your ALL! You got this. 🙂

  3. Great post!!! You are going to have a great race. You might as well go for it! You are super speedy and strong right now…. go for it! What’s the worst that would happen, you won’t get it… but then again, by going for it, you might just hit it!! You know I’ll be cheering for you!! Kill it!

  4. I LOVE this. Sometimes you just have to lay it all on the line and freaking GO FOR IT. I have seen your paces. I KNOW your determination. It is totally doable. “Believe” all the way from the start line, girl!!!

    Not to rain on the parade… but you know 3:39 is no longer your BQ time, right? Sorry if you already know that (and sorry if you don’t!) – I just wanted to make sure you do know, since they’ve knocked 5 mins. off for 2013 qualifications. BUT don’t let that take anything away from 3:39! Seriously.

    Go get it, girl!!!

  5. You are so freakin’ badass – you are going to ROCK the life out of this race!!!! I can’t wait to hear all about it!!!

  6. Ivan

    Remember when even the mention of a BQ annoyed you? Your competitor streak has come a long way!

  7. You go girl! You’re such an inspiration! 😀

  8. Liz

    You definitely have it in you Heather! I will be around mile 19-20 and will look for you speeding by me 🙂

  9. Mamacita

    Good Luck Sweetie! You can do it! Will be anxious to hear from you on Sunday.
    Love, Mamacita

  10. Awesome goal, Heather! I hope you’re resting up, carb loading and enjoying every moment of this race experience. You can do 3:49. I still find it interesting how the BQ time changing changed my mentality on what time I want to hit for the marathon. Now I’m not even sure if I want to run it in the next few years because well, just not sure that I can take off another 10 min from the time. I’m not sure that waiting until I’m 35 will fare much better for me. 🙂 But I believe that you always set clear intentions and you’ve worked hard for this and are a fast runner. Go for it!

  11. Awesome! Why not aim high right? And if you get 3:39 this time around then maybe you can hit that BQ next time. You know, if you want to!

    Will be thinking of you this weekend!

  12. Sam Quatromoni

    I believe! Especially with that pacer you’re going to have!

  13. You’ve got this! Good luck! Hope I see you out there. 🙂

  14. Aim high. Leave it all out there. Trust your training. Trust your pacer. Trust yourself. You’ve got this. I have no doubt.

  15. you’re so speedy! Can’t wait to see how FREAKIN’ AWESOME YOU DO this weekend. 😀 I’ll be hollering to MOVE THOSE LEGS from all the way over here. 🙂

  16. Kate :-)

    You have put so much heart into this. You dedicate so much of yourself to this sport. When your mind tries to argue, tell your body to fight back. When your body tries to argue, remind yourself that this race is YOURS. If you feel yourself slowing, focus on the most colorful t-shirt ahead of you and don’t let it out of your sight; try to catch up with it!! (yes, your legs will pick up speed if you tell them to). When someone in the crowd cheers, know they are cheering for you. Nothing to lose. Go all out.

    Most importantly, Heather; have fun with it. Love the crowds, love the runners, love the cause, love the weather, love running in DC.

    “Racing teaches us to challenge ourselves. It teaches us to push beyond where we thought we could go. It helps us to find out what we are made of. This is what we do. This is what it’s all about.”
    -PattiSue Plumer, U.S. Olympian

  17. You’ve totally got this girl!!!! 3:39 all the way! Have fun :)))

  18. Lauren

    Ahhh good luck sister!! I’m so proud of you 😀 you are going to do awesomeee!

  19. good luck! it’s A+ or bust… i like that attitude. it’s yours for the taking. have fun and kick ass 🙂

  20. And you did it. Congrats, girl 🙂

  21. You set your mind to something, it’s over. You have such amazing determination. Truly inspirational.

  22. I can’t wait to read your RECAP!

  23. Pingback: Marine Corps Marathon : Goal Glory | Dietitian on the Run

  24. I know what happened! I know what happened! We were so sad to miss you…but so pumped when we realized why!

  25. Pingback: Marine Corps Marathon Recap: Trust This City | Dietitian on the Run

  26. Pingback: Motivation Monday: The 2011-2012 ski season edition | Amy Reinink

  27. Pingback: The Training Plan of No-Plan | Dietitian on the Run

  28. Pingback: 2011: The Loud Year | Dietitian on the Run

  29. Pingback: MCM Week: Race Prep, Gear & OMG | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

