TTT: I meant it when I said it

{ Three Things Thursday, a la Morgan }

1) My first date with Quinoa involved a sweet potato, and it did not disappoint. I wrote:

“…a fun mix of textures and flavors, plus some greens on the side!… You can’t go wrong with a plate full of veggies and healthy grains.”

As for the latter, that will always be true. I’ve since learned that this particular healthy {protein-packed} grain goes well with a lot of other things! Last night I paired the sweet potato with it again, alongside a different kind of green, and was once again pleased with how well the date went. Dinner success!

10.26.11 00710.26.11 005 In the mix: sautéed sweet potato (peeled & cubed) + carmelized red onion + cumin, ground red pepper, pepper + quinoa + a drizzle of barbecue sauce.

All together: stuffed in a pita with avocado slices.

I meant it when I said you can’t go wrong!
Quinoa & sweet potatoes are good friends.

2) I’ve had crazier weeks – and by “crazy”, I mean that I once declared myself in a state of manic-taper-mode. This time around, “it looks like we – me and my sane mind – might actually make it to Sunday, crazy-taper free!” I put there it out there, and I meant it.  We’re 3 days away, and still going strong!

How to stay sane during the taper week: RELAX. Seriously, just calm down. Chill out. You’ve put in the miles; you don’t need another Long Run. You’ve sacrificed nights out, mornings sleeping in, countless hours planning routes & runs & your bank account balance at the grocery store, running store & maybe even on iTunes purchasing a few new tunes (but then proceeding to start running without music? what? Dang.).

Now? You get to relax. Take advantage! Run easy miles; let your run-buddy take you for a speedy, hilly run; run more easy miles. Go to the expo and snatch up a bunch of freebies. Sleep in a little bit more every morning. Add a few more carbs to those meals when it’s time.

Enjoy the butterflies you get every time you think about the day to come.

3) Set a goal*; hold yourself accountable; take on a challenge.
Think optimistically.

IWillBostonQualify

I meant it when I said that I want that BQ.
*But, we’ll talk about that tomorrow.

*****

Say what you mean, and mean what you say! Anything you want to put out there, and add to the list? Let’s hear it.

15 Comments

Filed under dinners, doin things My way, food, Goals, making plans, MCM, recipes, running, training

15 responses to “TTT: I meant it when I said it

  1. I’ll definitely be sticking around to root you on – you can SO qualify for Boston!!!! And when you race here, I’d love to come watch you cross that finish line! Especially since I’ve made it my mission (being a lifetime Bostonian) to finally SEE the race live and in person. A crime that I have yet to witness it myself, huh?

    • Heather C

      Thanks, Jess! 🙂 I might come up this next year (2012) just to see it myself, and have an excuse to finally visit the city!

  2. You can totally BQ! I have complete faith. I love that goal, not crazy at all.

    I don’t know if I’m ready to put it out there:( I waffle too much sometimes, but I can definitely feel your energy. So proud of you!

  3. I always mean what I say or I don’t bother putting it out there. Just by committing to a BQ it will happen for you. No doubt in my mind.

  4. Yeah girl, go for it!!! Believing in yourself is a HUGE part of it, and you’ve got that down.

  5. I really need to get on this quinoa train!

    Girl you’ve got this BQ, I know you do!!!!!!!!

  6. You got this. Seriously. Run fast, then run fast some more, and when you hit mile 20, run really fast (you can stop for a mimosa at 22 if you are way ahead 😉 )

  7. but I wanna talk about the bq topic nooooooooooooooooow. todaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay. pacify me woman. 🙂

  8. The elusive BQ – Bucket List Item for sure being from Boston orginally! You can do it.Best of Luck!

  9. Quinoa is SO versatile ad delciois. I love it in place of pasta with sauteed veggies and marinara…OR with cumin, cilantro, salsa and avocado. You really can’t go wrong. Looking forward to reading more about your goal to BQ! I believe in you and your speedy, strong legs, my friend. 🙂

  10. I’m glad you are staying sane during taper week! It’s definitely hard to do. I’ll be handing out water at mile 4 on Sunday so maybe I will see you! 🙂

  11. Hi Heather,
    I’m here for the food! (though best of luck w/the Marathon).
    I’m a fan, and regular consumer of both sweet potatoes and quinoa…but it’s never even occurred to me to try them together. Even though quinoa isn’t that starchy, it’s enough so that I treat as such in meals…when the moment strikes though, i’ll be intrigued to try this combo!

Let's Hear It!

