You Know it’s Race Week When…

Marine Corps Marathon is now six days away! The manic-taper mode has yet to join the party, and it looks like we – me and my sane mind – might actually make it to Sunday, crazy-taper free! Instead, energy has been poured into the following things:

…you spend Sunday night baking and scheming a few great carb-filled home-cooked meals.

10.23.11 012Dinner.10.23 006

Consumed: spaghetti squash, tossed with cooked tomatoes, steamed kale, baked tofu and fresh grated parmesan. For dessert: pumpkin muffins!

Coming up: salmon + quinoa, vegetable lasagna, baked quinoa patties, and a chickpea curry stir-fry.

*****

…you’re researching goal paces, and the break-down of 26.2 miles.

image

*****

…you look at this, at least once a day (ahem, obsessively).

image

****

…the training plan is all crossed off, and an easy week finally stares you straight in the eye.

This is assuming you have a training plan; at this point, I’m improving. I actually looked back at “October 2010” in my old Runner’s World log (oh the days before I knew you, Garmin Connect!), to see how I prepared for the last big race. That one seemed to go pretty well for me, so logic tells me I had some sort of strategy worth repeating.

image

Three low-mileage runs, one tempo and one RACE? Yep, I can do that.
Add some yoga in there, and you’ve got an updated plan! The legs are ready.

Starting tonight, I’ll be joining a crew I haven’t run with in way too long – it seemed fitting, with a classic DC race coming up!

*****

What do you add to a race week agenda?

Who else is counting down to MCM (Full or 10K)?? We’re almost there!

37 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, making plans, marathon, MCM, training

37 responses to “You Know it’s Race Week When…

  1. Happy Race Week! Looks like you are all set.

    That spaghetti squash dish sounds AMAZING. Need to try that. I often eat it tossed with chopped tomatoes and sprinkled parmesan, but I like your take on it.

    Rest up & fuel up! Your turn next. 😀

  2. I need to be banned from weather.com on race weeks. It gets a little obsessive. I am thankful for an easy week though – hopefully it will calm my nerves 🙂

  3. Wishing you a great week, love. Crush em! Your are doing all the right things, as you should since you are practically a pro. Your fall dishes are so colorful, mmmm.

  4. I’m running MCM too! Since I just ran Baltimore, I have no idea what my legs are going to do. The goal is to keep the pace easy and HAVE FUN!

    But you, I’m sure, are ready to rock it!

  5. Oh you know I’m right there with you. Please don’t rain on Sunday! I’m not being as meticulous as I was for Baltimore a few weeks ago because I’m running MCM with my mom at her pace so it won’t be as hard but still happily consuming bagels without guilt. Thanks for those recipes! I’m also going to check out that pace guide!

    • Heather C

      Ha, as you should be – enjoy those bagels!

      The pace bracelets can be a great resource, but last year I didn’t need one because if the goal is “sub-4” you just add up the 9s. This time it’s not as simple 😉

  6. I am surprisingly not quite as nervous for this one. I’ve decided against wearing a pace band (for now), and mostly just preserving my legs for Philly. That said, I’m still super excited. And I really wish they’d show us this year’s medal already.

    • Heather C

      Maybe because you already know you’re in marathon-rockin’ shape!

      I had no idea the medals weren’t “revealed” yet…when does this happen?

  7. I’m going to MCM! I am going to be at the NUUN booth, and just watch the marathon, but hopefully I will get to meet you!

  8. HOORAY for race week! You’re ready.

    Side note a) we’re doing redheaded brunch Saturday morning. You should.

    Side note b) it was GREAT to see you this weekend. Trying really hard to not apologize for being obnoxiously drunk here. 🙂

    • Heather C

      Saturday brunch fun! Whoop! Send me the deets if you get a chance – not sure what we’ll be up to that day but I’ll love to join you guys. 🙂

  9. Yahoo! So exciting to have race week here. Enjoy those few final runs. Oh and those pumpkin cupcakes/muffins look delicious and adorable with the little choc chip on top.

  10. You’re going to have a GREAT race!! You’ve trained hard and smart (and speedily!)! I can’t wait to hear all about it! Love the race day forecast so far! Lookin’ good!!

  11. that is my routine too! tapering means lots of baking, watching the weather, and well, resting. Sending you lots of good vibes this week!!

    • Heather C

      The “baking” thing had not happened around here in way too long. And then I get one free night and bam, we have muffins. 😉

  12. Mamacita

    Looks like you will have good weather for your race! Muffins looks very tasty; love fall baking. Our kitchen smelled so good when the pear gingerbread tart was baking. Less than four weeks til the beach. . .
    Love, Mamacita

  13. pumpkin muffins, salmon and quinoa! I’m into your meals this week. 🙂 And will you look at that forecast?? I obsessively check weather before a race, too.

  14. I’ll be running MCM! My first marathon! Best of luck to you. Right now the weather looks perfect. I wouldn’t mind if it said it would be a bit cooler but hoping the temps don’t get any warmer.

  15. Looks like your week is off to a great start! Good luck!!

  16. I usually start to write a list of things that I will need to take with me. My watch, Gu, headband, chapstick etc and also make sure I know where I will eat and if my race day clothes are all washed and ready to go. Looks like you’ll have a great race weekend!

  17. shauna

    have fun this weekend!

  18. Really hoping that weather sticks to the current forecast, but I’m worried it’s too good to be true. Eep! Good luck to you! You’re going to dominate this race!

  19. Bri

    I’m a new reader to your blog (found you a few months ago!) and wanted to say I’m running MCM this weekend as well! It’s been nice following along with your training and awesome recipes (makng the pumpkin quinoa tonight!). As for race week, I make sure I have a water bottle in my hand at all times and that I’m sleeping 8 hours each night. And yes, compulsively check weather.com as well!

    Good luck to you this weekend, I’m sure you’ll have a fabulous race!

  20. Amy

    The food sounds yummy. You’re going to do great! Can’t wait for the race update (I’m sure you’re looking forward to that also). Best of luck!

  21. Pingback: TTT: I meant it when I said it | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

