{Cauli}Flower Eating

As we browsed the Farmers’ Market tables over the weekend it was clear that Fall had arrived (see: gorgeous apples, endless amounts of squash & pumpkins). One vegetable, that doesn’t make frequent appearances in this kitchen, caught my eye. It seems to me this flower is too often compared to its green counterpart (broccoli), and subsequently written off as colorless and boring.

Is that just me?

10.9.11 004

Before two weeks ago, I honestly can’t remember the last time I bought, or cooked with, cauliflower. It’s part of the cruciferous vegetable family – joined by broccoli, kale, brussel sprouts, cabbage, etc – so you know it’s full of the good stuff.

What was I missing? Why did I ignore it? What do the farmers know, that I don’t?

As an excellent source of vitamin C, and a very good source of manganese, cauliflower provides us with two core conventional antioxidants. But its antioxidant support extends far beyond the conventional nutrients into the realm of phytonutrients. Beta-carotene, beta-cryptoxanthin, caffeic acid, cinnamic acid, ferulic acid, quercetin, rutin, and kaempferol are among cauliflower’s key antioxidant phytonutrients.

As an excellent source of vitamin K and a very good source of omega-3 fatty acids (in the form of alpha-linolenic acid, or ALA), cauliflower provides us with two hallmark anti-inflammatory nutrients.

Calories: ~30 per 1 cup (steamed/boiled).

Buying Tips: When purchasing cauliflower, look for a clean, creamy white, compact curd in which the bud clusters are not separated. Heads that are surrounded by many thick green leaves are better protected and will be fresher.

 

Source: World’s Healthiest Foods.

Thanks to recipe browsing over at Daily Garnish, this flower-powerhouse did recently visit our kitchen and play host to a delicious pasta bake. Thanks to the Farmers Market on U Street, I now know Fall is the season for cauliflower.

9.29.11 006

Thanks to a quick Google Reader search, I have a long list of other ways to explore this flower’s taste range. Here are a few I’m bookmarking:

Broccoli & Cauliflower Asian Dressing Salad – Choosing Raw
Basmati Rice Casserole – Eat Well with Janel
Simple Creamy Potato SoupThe Edible Perspective
Are you a fan of cauliflower?
Or do you skip over “white” vegetables sometimes, too?

What’s the most creative way you’ve diced and dined with it?

12 Comments

Filed under food, groceries, new things!, Nutrition, recipes

12 responses to “{Cauli}Flower Eating

  1. Love cauliflower! Most of the time I just steam it and eat it next to everything else – it’s so good just by itself. I’ll have to try something more adventurous though! Thanks for the ideas!!

  2. We rarely have cauliflower either, although I do enjoy it when I actually eat it. That casserole looks YUMMY!!!

  3. I tend to take a pass on cauliflower as well. One thing I do like to do with it though is to make mashed cauliflower and serve as a substitute for mashed potatoes! – I know, not creative, or original!

  4. Cauliflower sneaks in most of my recipes to be honest. I don’t ever see it front and center on the menu, but I never mind it in my dishes. Way to show love to the little forgotten veggie.

  5. I love cauliflower and am actually posting a new recipe on my blog this week of my fav cauliflower recipe 🙂 roasted 😉 …….. that’s just part of the amazingness 😀

  6. i started buying it when I realized how much I love cauliflower mashers and faux potato salad, so easy and soooo yummy

  7. Yum I love cauliflower! It is such a great change up from broccoli. New to your blog, I am aspiring R.D. and am really loving your posts. Of course!

  8. Love cauliflower!! It is true I always thought because it’s colorless it must have zero nutrition but so wrong! Thanks for the amazing recipes cannot wait to try them. I really enjoy your blog keep the great stuff coming : )

    -Half Moon

  9. shauna

    i also like using cauliflower as a substitute for items (i.e., rice, mashed potatoes, hashbrowns) to pack in a little more nutrition. so, last night for dessert i tried using cauliflower as a substitute for hot, rice cereal (recipe generally: shredded cauliflower, cinnamon, vanilla extract, almond milk, stevia) thinking, hey, this will be like rice cereal. yum yum delicious. alas, it is not. but, it wasn’t so bad that i wouldn’t try it again. i think it just needs some pecans….. 🙂

  10. I love cauliflower, but I have to admit: I prefer it steamed with a bit of salt added. That’s it! 🙂

Let's Hear It!

