Plate Plan for the Week II

Thanks to the initial post last week, I now know I’m not alone in forgetting to plan ahead more than often than not. My grocery list took kindly to the new menu items and the tasty results! We only missed one planned meal, but it wasn’t substituted with pizza or eating out, so I’m still calling the week a success.

My dinner plate, my rules.

This weekend I sat down with the newest issue of Cooking Light, Google Reader starred items and a pen. The notepad page quickly filled up with ingredients and ideas, and plate plan II was created.

Trader Joe’s, thanks for helping us cross almost everything off the list!
Dupont Farmer’s Market, thanks for the fresh yellow squash!

The invitation is open, once again, for any diners to join us in this week’s menu. I promise taste-bud satisfaction is to follow:

Sunday Night- Mahi Mahi fish tacos

We used up what was left of the yellow & red peppers, a very ripe avocado and almost-expired corn tortillas. This fish was happy to see the light of the fridge; the pan seared result was taco perfection.

FishTacos 006FishTacos 003

2 Mahi Mahi filets
1 T olive oil
1/4 c each – Red & Yellow peppers, sliced
1/2 cup Steamed edamame beans
1 Ripe avocado, sliced
Salt/pepper, Cumin
4-6 Corn tortillas
Salsa to taste

Season filets with cumin, s/p to taste. Heat oil over medium in a sauté pan; cook fish on each side for ~3-4 minutes, until opaque an flaky.

Slice peppers & steam edamame beans; peel & slice avocado. Set all aside for your taco-building buffet.

Set oven to broil; heat corn tortillas for ~1-2 minutes on each side (watch carefully, they burn quickly!).

Layer avocado, fish, pepper + bean mix & as much salsa as your taste-buds can handle. Fold and enjoy!

Monday – Black Bean & Cheese Enchiladas (a la Cooking Light)
We had the beans & corn tortillas already on hand; I’m making a trip to Whole Foods today for the fresh ancho chiles. This meal will be satsisfying my enchilada craving, and also providing leftovers for lunches. Win, win!

Tuesday – Shrimp & Teriyaki Noodles (via Lauren’s Latest)

image
Photo from Lauren’s Latest – Teriyaki Shrimp Soba Noodle Bowls

We couldn’t find the soba noodles at TJ’s, and went with linguine instead.

Wednesday – Leftovers (Track night)

Thursday – Macaroni & Cheese
(aka The Easiest Homemade Mac n’ Cheese)

macNcheese 007

Of course this meal had to make a quick return! Is it Thursday yet?

This time I’ll be adding some steamed greens & a dash of spices.

Friday – Out / Chickpea Masala redux?

This day remains TBD; the chickpea {channa} masala didn’t make it through last week, but we may have some visitors to treat. Open option here! If you want to cook and have us over, I’d be okay with that, too.

*****

What do you have planned for your plate(s) this week?

12 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, groceries, making plans, Meatless Monday, vegetarian

12 responses to “Plate Plan for the Week II

  1. i think I want some mahi tacos for tuesday. Taco tuesday!!! Wednesday sound good, bring me leftovers please.
    🙂

  2. Thanks for picking one of my recipes to feature!

  3. Another good looking plan for the week – especially mac & cheese! 🙂

  4. wait, a week went by since the last time you did this? i really need to get on the ball. i did open a cookbook last night, so that’s a good start.

  5. I was talking with my health coach about the planning thing and how I suck at doing a whole week. So this week I still cooked a ton on sunday to have meals all week, but only needed to plan 1 day at a time…I have yet to stick to any of those days! But since I cooked ahead it’s at least all good food

  6. Lauren

    I made jambalaya with shrimp and turkey andoulie sausage the other night! I made up my own cajun seasoning and steamed rice with peppers in it. So yummy! I am using leftover turkey sausage tonight to make some yummy linguine pasta with spaghetti sauce and tomatoes! 🙂 nom

  7. The tacos look amazing! We had perfect salmon for dinner tonight – I’m going to have Billy post about it sometime this week. He’s very serious about his cooking methods! 🙂

  8. Pingback: Plate Planning: Fresh First | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

