Resuming Routine

For the second morning in a row, I met my Run-buddy (RB), Kate, at our new spot. It’s the start of a new version or our old routine! Again, all as if we never really left.

We’re now only 1 mile apart, which is perfect! This gives me one half mile to warm up, try to feel more alert than I do when I climb out of bed at 5:40 a.m., and get ready for that morning’s adventure.

*****

Before we moved the first time (if you’ve been able to keep up), Kate & I started a morning-run routine. It was the Spring of 2010, and the summer heat of DC was getting an early start to its powerful reign. At the time, that consistency was exactly what I needed to get my running mojo back in gear and to get my base going for summer training.

It was also exactly what we needed to avoid the death-grip of the DC summer sun.

Win, Win!

*****

She’s a speedy one; her race PRs intimidate me and her speed-work tactics scare me. When we run together, I get faster & don’t even notice that it hurts. We chat, she leads me around some route I probably couldn’t map out if I tried, and all of a sudden we’re done! I slowly jog my half-mile home, winding down but staying right on top of that runner’s high.

It’s more of a jolt than caffeine; coffee’s got nothing on a good morning run!
But I do make a cup as soon as I get home.

****

Are you a routine-runner (cyclist, yogi, {insert other activity})?
In between training cycles, I love to keep the weeks spontaneous and take the opportunity to include random workouts. When I’m training, I strive on the routine – consistency, progress & a goal at the end of all!

6 Comments

Filed under early morning, motivation, running buddy, training

6 responses to “Resuming Routine

  1. Wow, she sounds like a great running buddy for you – she keeps you moving!! Love that. Especially since she keeps you distracted so you don’t notice the pain *as* much. 😉

    I’m with you – I’m all about focus these days. Running paired with my favorite barre n9ne classes and I’m a happy camper!

  2. Want to drag that bicycle out of the closet and ride on Thursday morning with me??? 🙂 You know you love HP in the morning!

  3. Definitely have and NEED my routines when it comes to mornings! So much easier to get out of bed when meeting someone. Awesome that you’ve reunited with RB Kate!!

  4. Lauren

    I wish I could run with you guys! I have never had a running buddy (none of my friends understand why I run so much). I got into a great workout routine while I was away training because I had nothing better to do! Now that I’m home we are super busy and I’m not sure what kind of routine I’ll get in…This morning I went to the gym at 6:30 though! And 18 miles…that’s crazzyyyyy. Good job!

  5. Your RB sounds like the perfect person for you! I have actually never had a running buddy! None of my friends are really into it. I know a lot of other people who run in town but they stick to the treadmill a lot so that is a no go! lol. I really like having a routine as much as I can. It seems like one less thing to think about and it keeps me going! 🙂

  6. Ah, I love those kinds of runs. PS – I’m still around reading, just not always commenting. Just wanted to say that. 🙂 Work is busy and smart phones make it frustrating to type out a comment.

Let's Hear It!

