Ironing, Tetris Car & our friend, Kale

{Random Friday Facts, a la Katie }

I’ve discovered the wonder that is Speaker-phone. I can pack, get ready for work, type, eat, do-whateva-I-want while chirping on the phone. Brilliant!*

*Sometimes I wish I was British, so I could use words like “brilliant”, “bloody” & “extraordinary” (which sounds so much cooler in a British accent) on a daily basis.

It’s very rare that I iron anything. Case in point:

9.1.11

Yesterday, I played tetris with the back of my SUV.
Now, I’m almost positive it has the power of Mary Poppins’ bag; everything (and then some) fit in there. Like magic!

One would think I’m numb to moving, and all the things that go along with it.
I kind of wish that were true, but I’m far from it. Empty houses give me a little bit of anxiety (after watching things removed, not when moving in); I immediately get nostalgic.

I’m running 10 miles this morning, not 18. It’s still a “long” run, I didn’t have to wake up at 5 a.m. and I’ll be heading to my massage at 11 with no regrets.

Maybe 18 will resurface on Monday, in DC? We shall see.

*****

Random Food Facts:

Chris left a whole bag of Kale in the fridge; I made Kale chips one time, about a year ago, and was not impressed. This time I took a different approach, sauteeing a large batch (with olive oil) and have it with my quinoa + fire-roasted tomatoes lunch mix.

That was much better.

9.1.11 002

What does Kale bring to the table?

  • Beta-carotene (which the body converts to vitamin A), luetin & zeaxanthin – aka flavonoids that act as antioxidants.
  • Vitamin A – 100g of leaves provides 5000+% of daily needs.
  • Vitamin K – 100g of leaves provides ~700% of daily needs. 
            
    Clearly it is not lacking in either of these vitamins; a little goes a long way.
  • A “rich” source of : copper, calcium, sodium, potassium, iron, manganese & phosphorus.
  • 1 cup raw (and chopped) = 67 g (to put the above 100g into perspective)
                                                    = 33 cals ; 2 g protein, 200% vitamin A
                                                                         134% Vitamin C

It has so much personality; this is a great friend to invite over for a meal!

******

What do you randomly think about on a Friday morning?

I’m off for the run + last day in Denver (until we visit the mountains)! Wow.
Next time I visit this keyboard, we’ll have arrived at our destination.
Enjoy the weekend!

 

8 Comments

Filed under about me, Nutrition, random, running, travel, weekends

8 responses to “Ironing, Tetris Car & our friend, Kale

  1. Have a great 10!

    also, last week thom needed to iron a shirt for school, and he was like, where’s our iron? iron? what iron? we don’t have an iron, I live in spandex.

  2. Safe travels girl!!!!!!!!!! Ahhhhhhhhhhhhh you’re going HOME!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

  3. Enjoy all 10 of those “long” miles!! And take in the scenery and seal it in your memory for the future, it’ll be fun to do one more run before you head back to DC huh?

  4. Good call on the run. Hope it’s good and that the run goes well!

  5. Pingback: Random Friday Facts | thoughts. opinions. adventures.

  6. i’m not a kale chip fan either, so maybe I’ll try your recipe instead.

    moving is a weird thing, exciting, terrifying, wonderful, horrible…really so many things and emotions!

  7. danidelicatessen

    love kale! kale chips are a hit or miss I think, it’s hard to get them dry enough so they arent soggy-and then its so easy to burn them. im training for my first half marathon and am dreading/terrified for 10 miles…i couldnt imagine doing 18 but hopefully itll happen some day : )

  8. Lauren

    Clearly I missed out on your blog this weekend sooo now I am here to comment. My response to this post:
    1. I have never tried Kale…looks like the cooked spinach mom used to make us eat when we were little and I would literally swallow it whole with my drink of milk. I guess I didn’t have any mashed taters to hide it under.
    2. The only times I have wished I spoke like a British person was when reading Angus, thongs and full frontal snogging and while reading Harry Potter…mainly just so I could say the word snogging and so I could properly pronounce Hermione’s name.
    3. Someone told me I spoke like I Texan at work the other day after I told them I had been in Dallas for 6 weeks. I kindly told them that I didn’t take that as a compliment. Not amused.
    4. Often times on Friday mornings I think to myself what it would be like to have a normal 5 day a week job and be excited that it was Friday and the weekend was here rather than not really knowing what day it is unless it happens to be a day off. However, this Friday I will be extremely happy because it will be the day I get to go home!
    Ok, that’s all. Sorry this is so long. Clearly I’m bored.

Let's Hear It!

