Stacked Enchilada Mystery

Today, I have the enchilada recipe I promised you before my Texas adventure. Green chile sauce & bean mixture genius galore, and a spicy combination that left my “I’ll have water with dinner” attitude in question.

I also have a mystery to present. Clues n’ everything!

The two don’t go together, but it sounds more intriguing that way. Go with it!

*****

Stacked Bean & Green Chile Enchiladas

We have to start with the sauce. The easiest of easy spicy sauce; admittedly this sauce is only possible if you have access to roasted green chiles. I’m hyper-aware that this doesn’t apply to many people outside the Southwest region. But, trust me, if you see them, you should always buy them!

Chris spotted roasted green chiles, sold by the pound, at Sunflower Market. It was $1.87 for a container of them; taste-bud heaven is cheap ‘round these parts!

100_0083

Creamy Green Chile Sauce 

2 roasted green chiles
Skin peeled, seeds removed

1/2 c plain, greek yogurt

Blend together, add a pinch o’ salt; and finger-taste to make sure it’s as delicious as it smells.

Trust me, it is.

Bean & Fire-roasted tomato mixture

3/4 c Vegetarian refried beans
1/2 c Black beans
1 can fire-roasted diced tomatoes (e.g. Muir Glen)
Cumin, Garlic powder & pepper

Combine all ingredients in a sauce pan and cook over medium heat. Stir constantly, until it creates a smooth texture – easy to spread.

Stacked Enchiladas

Corn tortillas
Tomato sauce
Bean Mixture
Green Chile sauce

Heat oven to 425*. Pour ~1/2 c tomato sauce, covering the bottom of a casserole dish. Create a layer with corn tortillas, spread 1/3 of bean mixture & top with drizzles of green chile sauce. Repeat for 3 layers, and top with remaining sauce.

Bake for ~15 minutes, let cool for a few minutes before cutting slices.

100_0084 100_0089100_0090

Prepare your taste buds, and maybe a glass of milk. Enjoy!

*****

Now, about that ‘mystery’…

For the second time in two weeks, I dropped D off at the airport knowing I won’t see him for too long (12 days). He left with quite a bit more luggage this time:

8.21.11 0988.21.11 099

Any guesses where he might be off to?
Bonus points: what’s in the BIG box?

I can tell you two things: 1) I’ll answer questions on Thursday & 2) his destination has to do with our next adventure.

Clue #1: I’ll be doing my first 20 miler of this cycle in a different city!

{Friends who know, I expect you to shhh}

7 Comments

Filed under Dietitians, dinners, food, new things!, recipes, things that make me Happy

7 responses to “Stacked Enchilada Mystery

  1. theres a bike in that bike box!!!!!! is he going to pace the hood to coast peeps? haha. Or maybe he’s going to do a race?

  2. My guess is also a bike in that box! A triathlon?

  3. I was all set to respond until I saw that, “{Friends who know, I expect you to shhh}.”

    Way to take the wind out of my sails…

  4. Ohhh can’t wait to hear what this next adventure is all about!!

  5. ACK! No clue but SUPER curious!!! 😀

  6. Curiouser and curiouser…

  7. D is moving in with Lance Armstrong. no?

Let's Hear It!

