Airplane Breakfast & Baby Love

{Random Friday Facts, a la Katie}

I played soccer for about 12 years, from kindergarten through high school. The only thing that means now is that I love being on a team, and at one point in my life I could kick a ball really far.

I signed up for my first half-marathon only because my roommate, LB, had run a Full a few months earlier. She wasn’t a “runner” before that, but she certainly seemed to be afterward. I was curious. And I convinced her to sign up with me.

I’ve only lived by myself twice, during two summers in college. Lesson learned: I am not meant to be the lone-ranger. I prefer company & conversation. And someone to enjoy What Not to Wear with me.

I brought a mini LARABAR, banana & a pack of LOVE GROWN granola on the plane with me; they served “100-calorie pack” Nabisco cookies & peanuts. My breakfast tasted much better.

There are some songs that I just never seem to get sick of. On that list, for now:

Uprising, The Muse
Bad Romance, Lady Gaga
You are the Best Thing, Ray LaMontagne
Harder to Breathe, Maroon 5
Wonderwall, Oasis
Empire State of Mind, Jay-Z & Alicia Keys
She’s My Winona, Fall Out Boy
Back to Black, Amy Winehouse
The Show Goes On, Lupe Fiasco

….just to name a few.

I had 60 pages left in The Help before I left for Texas. I obviously had to bring it with me, and finish the book. Then I had to carry around a 450 pg book for 3 flights. I see you, Kindle, and I get your appeal. But I won’t do it; you won’t take me as your victim!

There are two artists that I’d pay anything to see in concert: Ray LaMontagne & Lady Gaga. Preferably not at the same time, though.

Once I read that Dean Karnazes “keeps things interesting” by never running the exact same route twice. Since then, I’ve only ever run the exact same route, more than once, on a few occasions. Dean knows everything, right?! RIGHT.

*****

On another note, I’ve spent the past two days with these girls and I’m not really ready for vacation{play-time}-mode to be over. This photo-shoot play-mate was too much fun:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

********

Because we’d rather play with the baby all day than menu plan, we did an easy Frittata for dinner. When I say “easy” I mean delicious, and simple.

Asparagus Potato Frittata

1 medium sized potato, peeled & diced
1/2 c onion, diced
~3/4 c Asparagus, cut into 1/2 in. pieces
7 eggs
~2 tbsp white cheddar (or mozzarella), shredded
1 tbsp Olive oil

Heat the oil over medium; preheat the oven to 375*. Add potato & onion, s/p, saute until soft. Add asparagus.

Whisk the eggs together with a splash of milk; pour over vegetable mixture and cook over low/medium. When the edges begin to cook, sprinkle cheese on the top. Put the pan in the oven & bake for 5-10 minutes, watching carefully until the top is cooked through. {Clearly we paid close attention to all measurements & times. Uh-huh.}

Serve with a side of salad, and a glass of vino – Heather, Mike & Emily approved!

****

Comments open to random sharing & baby love.

14 Comments

Filed under about me, things I Love, travel, vegetarian, visitors

14 responses to “Airplane Breakfast & Baby Love

  1. Lauren

    She is SO adorable!! Glad you finally got to meet her. 🙂

  2. holy CRAP is that a cute baby!

    i am anti e-reader. and i hated living alone!

  3. Your breakfast sounds a million times better than the handouts on the plane! 🙂 The KIndle sound so great for travel and being on the go but there is something about a real book that is so refreshing. It feels like being unplugged! I used to love living alone until I lived with the manfriend for a year but now that he moved to do his student teaching I hate it so much!

  4. CUTIES!

    I don’t like living alone either. It’s too lonely!

  5. Lindsay

    If you ever become “victim” to the e-reader…. the Barnes and Noble Nook is better then the kindle……..i love mine and so does consumer reports 🙂
    the help is an awesome book and i am almost done reading it!

  6. I love Ray too. I could and have listened to him all day. I would love to see him in concert. Now that I think about it I think I will listen to him today while I clean house. Thanks!

  7. OMG is she not the cutest thing ever??? LOVE it!!

  8. Mamacita

    L is so cute!!!! Please bring more pics next weekend and let’s make a frittata, sit on the deck and drink vino. Okay we have a plan. Also I really think you would enjoy a Kindle once you tried one. Maybe I will let you read a book on mine in November while we sit on the beach. Love, Mamacita

  9. Pingback: random friday facts « Abz 'n' Oats

  10. Your airplane breakfast sounds MUCH better. Fritatta looks good too! Don’t you love that THIS is your idea of fast food??

    Super cute baby. Have fun!!! Babies smell so good. Well, except for when they don’t…

  11. I’m a serious baby lover. If one is anywhere near me i have to hold it. 🙂 Oh and i enjoyed an airport dinner courtesy of my hls swagger bag snacks. 🙂

  12. Pingback: You And Baby Love

  13. Pingback: Sixteen Strong | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

