Red & Green, Bean Enchiladas

Without the comma up there, we could’ve been in trouble. You’d think I was trying to feed you green bean enchiladas, and that’s even out of my realm of odd creations.

But as you can see, the colors were both strongly represented:

EnchiladaSauce 001

These weren’t planned, but rather created out of leftovers threatening to spoil and be wasted.

I don’t waste corn tortillas or homemade ‘enchilada’ sauces. That’s just wrong.

We also had half a can of {vegetarian} refried beans, and an avocado that was really demanding some attention. It was so ripe that the shell basically fell off. I wasn’t even aware that could happen, but I now know the easiest way to get the green goodness from the brown peel!

All of these things came together, and I had a tasty dinner.

Red & Green, Bean Enchiladas

Corn Tortillas (I used 3; only because that’s what fit in the mini-casserole dish)
3/4 – 1 c Refried Beans (I didn’t measure; we used a Vegetarian version)
1/4 c Roasted Red Pepper Strips

Topping:

1 avocado, mashed (fork-style, nothing fancy needed)
2 Tbsp Plain Greek Yogurt
Salt, Pepper, Cumin

Stir yogurt into mashed avocado, add seasonings.

Red ‘Enchilada’ Sauce:

1 c Muir Glen organic tomato sauce
1/2 c roasted pepper strips
1/4 c diced onion
Seasonings to taste: salt/pepper, garlic powder, cumin

Put everything in the food processor and pulse until smooth.

*****

Preheat the oven to 425*. Cover the bottom of your casserole dish with a layer of the Red sauce. Roll ~1/3 c of refried beans + ~2 tbsp roasted red pepper strips into the one corn tortilla. Top with creamy avocado & red sauce.

Repeat until you’ve used all your ingredients & your casserole dish is full! Again, I used one of our mini dishes, so I only fit 3 enchiladas in there. Two was enough for one serving.

Bake for 8-10 min, watching carefully to prevent burning the corn tortilla edges!

EnchiladaSauce 003EnchiladaSauce 008EnchiladaSauce 009
Let cool, grab your fork & then enjoy this gooey flavor-filled combo!

*****

The Nutrition facts!

Avocadoes are great source of heart-healthy fats.
      They are also provide Potassium, Folate & Vitamins C &  B-6.
The beans are a good source of protein & fiber.
The red sauce is full of vitamins A & C.

****

Have you ever made your own ‘enchilada’ sauce? I use that name loosely because I have a little research to do before I know what truly goes into an enchilada sauce. But as far as my taste buds were concerned, this name is appropriate!

6 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, Nutrition, recipes

6 responses to “Red & Green, Bean Enchiladas

  1. I was going to say: what exactly IS enchilada sauce?? but then I saw your disclaimer at the bottom. 🙂

    Either way, looks good!

  2. these look amazing. can i put green chiles on? I love me some green chiles!

  3. i’m surprised theres no green chili verde/salsa on that!!

  4. ohh looks very tasty! I have been making a open faced sandwich which avocado, red pepper, spinach and an egg lately…so tasty! But this looks like even more fun

  5. This looks so yummy!!! Can’t wait to try it!

Let's Hear It!

