Seeing Doubles

Last week, a memory-fail resulted in a double-day. I ran 3 miles in the morning (cutting my easy run short), and headed down to lead the 5K lululemon run club that night.  As it turned out, the double wasn’t so bad…

…in fact, maybe this could be a regular thing? Leading the club is a lot of fun, but it usually means I’m running someone else’s pace, or I’m hanging back to make sure no one gets lost along 7th avenue (which is close to impossible, but you just never know…). In other words, it’s not my workout. That’s okay!

Strategy: me first (early a.m. run), group later.

{Intentional} Trial: Four easy miles Monday morning, 3.1 Monday night. Suddenly we had about 10 people join the group, and I led the front pack (~8:50 avg).

From here on out, it’s built into the mix. This is an easy way for me to get in a few more miles throughout the week, without having to shift around yoga, Ryders classes, bike rides, etc.

6:00 a.m. – 4 miles, 36:50
6:30 p.m. – 3.1 miles, 27:20

Result: Perfecto. Doubles are the new easy-Monday.

*****

In other news, I threw a few things into the Food Process last night with the intention of making an enchilada sauce. I’ve never done this before, and I had no idea what that motor pulse would create.

I also don’t take enchilada sauce lightly, that is not a thing to be messed with.

As it turns out, I now know how to make an enchilada sauce. It was amazing.

We’ll dine on that tomorrow!

3 Comments

Filed under doin things My way, early morning, making plans, training

3 responses to “Seeing Doubles

  1. I ❤ doubles! Great way to up the mileage without wearing you down too much or causing a ruckus in the schedule. Nice work!!

  2. I’ve never done a running doubles–sometimes I wonder about my shins being able to handle it. Can’t wait to hear more about this enchi sauce! 🙂

  3. Great new Monday plan! I love doing doubles and have only recently started adopting them into my running life. Although I’m not training for a race, I’m in between jobs right now (hopefully back in mid-September!) and find myself fully enjoying the time to run. Yesterday I ran 6 morning miles and 4 more as the sun was setting. It’s just a fun way to, like you said, squeeze more miles in, and now I can run with my husband too if he wants (he’s a new runner!) and not worry about getting my workout in (he goes for about 20 minutes at a slower pace than me). Perfect! Keep enjoying the running club – what a great thing to be a part of!

Let's Hear It!

