Insert {Life}

For most of us, it’s almost impossible to wake up without immediately thinking of the to-do list – work, e-mails, workouts, meals, the dishes you’ve been unloading one by one out of the dishwasher, that oil in your car that should’ve been changed a month ago, the floor in the kitchen the could definitely use more than the twice-weekly sweep, etc.

At the end of the day, if it wasn’t all done, did you at least do something
for you
?

AbeLincoln

D & I are quickly approaching the one-year mark here in Denver, and it’s hard to believe those 365 days are already behind us.

Suddenly I’m 25, training for another marathon, watching summer fly by, and wondering why we haven’t found a pool to lay out at and how I haven’t had a Colorado peach yet?!

Suddenly I’m wondering how it’s been two years since I first moved to DC, started my first “real” job and began an entirely new life. That year was filled with foot-tours around a city that captures your attention no matter where you run (walk, ride the bus, or take the metro), and provides a race almost every weekend to rob your back account provide an opportunity to challenge those legs, and a variety of neighborhoods to suit all the ‘types’ that be.

******

Everything that has happened since then has been with one theme in mind – step outside the comfort zone.

Insert {life} in each year. If nothing else, be able to look back and think “we made the best of it”, whatever “it” may be.

For now, that means I do the things in Denver that make me happy (and it’s not too hard to find these things):

  • Run in the morning – enjoy the absence of humidity and the wonder that is cool mountain air, before the sun warms up.
  • Practice yoga – as often as possible, wherever I can.
    There are some really great teachers in this area that I always learn something new from. There are some muscles in these legs, and thoughts in this mind, who appreciate
    every class.
  • Hike the mountains, and marvel at their presence in what is essentially our ‘backyard’. If we make it to the top, marvel at the wonder that is the skyline of Colorado.
  • Go to Boulder. We can just sit in the park if that’s what the day calls for, but GO TO BOULDER.
  • Ride my bike – to work, for errands, or on an adventure with D.

cityparkview 1.25 022 bike.REI BearCanyonTrail 003

*****

Lincoln has always been my fave. {The Lincoln Memorial, Washington DC}

Do you put life in your years?

17 Comments

Filed under about me, DC, Exploring Colorado, random, running, Yoga

17 responses to “Insert {Life}

  1. Love it! 🙂 It’s so easy to get caught up in just getting by that we often forget if we’re not enjoying it, there’s not much point!

  2. I love this! Something that my husband and I do each year is type up a list of memories for the year – that we save in a simple word doc and refer to the next year. It’s always so fun to look back at some of the best memories we had – all remembered based on a simple bullet point in a word doc. 🙂

  3. Love this post! Everyone needs a reminder to stop and take it all in! Take a deep breath of your life in this moment… enjoy it and smile!

  4. This is definitely something that I struggle with…sometimes sitting on the couch seems like the best idea, but life is short and there’s so much to do out there! I think it’s a fine balance between chilling out and creating experiences. It’s also while I don’t spend every weekend at the bar…there’s much more to life than that! (Although it’s a big part of life for many people in NYC…)

    • Heather C

      I remember weeks in DC where I realized the only thing I did at my apartment was sleep & eat breakfast. There’s way too much to see in those cities you love – no time to waste “relaxing” 😉

  5. I try to put life into my years but you have to active in doing so. Some people can float by in life not really knowing what they are doing or why they are doing it. Like my friend said to me when I was trying to make a huge decision “Do you want to be water and just go with things or do you want to be dynamite and create?”

    • Heather C

      Exactly! Never settle, and certainly don’t look at your options as “go with the flow, get by”. Smart friend 🙂

  6. Mmmm, what a nice post. And I like that you snuck in another way to rub it in that there’s no humidity where you are. 🙂

  7. What a great post – you could even call this one “beautiful”. 🙂

  8. Today my girls and I out some life in our day. I am sure it is an experience you’ve done, but it was (mostly) a first my my girls. We rode the metro (not a first for them) into DC to visit the American History Museum…for the sole purpose of seeing THE ruby slippers (this was a new museum for my girls). After playing in the kids section and seeing all the first ladies’ dresses we visited the dinosaurs (not a first). It was a great day!

  9. Mamacita

    Love this post. Always enjoy where you are in your life, cherish the memories of where you have been and look forward to where you are going.

    Love, Mamacita

  10. Great post, Heather! I had a realization the other day that it is indeed summer…and not only that, but it’s almost August! I couldn’t believe it. I’ve been busy, but very fulfilled and happy. I just need to remember to be as present as possible and not too rushed… 🙂 xo

  11. ever since i’ve moved here I’ve been trying to get just STEP outside. it’s so gorgeous here. We haven’t spent a ton of time in boulder yet but that’s on our to do list next week!

Let's Hear It!

