The Start of MCM

Last weekend started with a test; I had finally “rested” up, reminded my muscles what it was like to run easy and hard during the week, and had no remnant lactic acid joining the party by Friday morning.

Plan A? Successful!

This meant I had 10 miles to run, a double-digit adventure I hadn’t tested in way too long. It seems to be the distance that always seems to humble my “I’ve run it before, I can run again” ego.

Thankfully my ego learns quickly, and was completely armed to be dropped on the trail if needed. Road rash only burns for a few days.

Luckily, we both made it through:

7.15.11

10 miles – 1:29 (avg pace ~8:55)

Test, passed! Muscles & mind in agreement, we’re ready for this marathon-training stuff – bring on Week 1!

*****

Given the sporadic running attitude I’ve had over the past two months, this plan was a little trickier to conjure up. Unfortunately I don’t think the Smart Coach really gets me – No, I won’t stick to a 5 run/week plan, I don’t like doing my speed-work on Wednesdays, and I’m not taking two days to “Rest / XT” before every  long run.

Geeze, don’t you know me by now, Coach?

Computer-generated training won’t cut it this time, so I’ve spent  hours (tough business, this whole “planning” thing) creating the next 16-week layout. I’ve taken the set travel days into account, and highlighted a few weekends where things may need to be swapped.

Here’s hoping none of my 20-milers will be on weekdays, after work, or before 5 a.m.! Good times.

It will all start with this, nice n’ simple (with Track days TBD, as I’ll only know those schedules the week of):

MCM.Week1

Tonight, those four miles will be checked off with the lululemon Run Group – easy pace with fun people? Not a bad tone to start off with!

Marine Corps, I like you. I think we’re going to be best buds for the next 16 weeks!

12 Comments

Filed under doin things My way, making plans, marathon, new things!, running, training

12 responses to “The Start of MCM

  1. Nicely done on the 10 miler!! Kind of nice when that muscle memory kicks in like that. Woohoo!

  2. Great job getting your 10m done!! Have you decided to def run MCM?

  3. Those internet plans never work for me – I’m too particular! Glad you’ve got the plan figured out for the next 16 weeks of fun! Awesome job on the 10 miler.

  4. Commence Trainage!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. whoop whoop! here’s to a stellar training cycle!! 😀
    And fun secret…. I might be running 26.2 the weekend before… of a 5-6 week training cycle….b/c I’m dumb like that… hahah.

  6. I love seeing how other experienced marathon runners use their previous experience, self-knowledge, and honest acceptance of their schedules/lifestyles to devise training plans. This looks like an especially great one. Looking forward to watching your progression to the starting line, and to cheering for you on your way to the finish line!

  7. Woo hoo! 🙂 Great job on the 10 miler! Can’t wait to follow your training journey!

  8. HOORAY for def running MCM! And 10 miles is my favorite distance to run. 🙂

    • Heather C

      Dittooo! And I was beginning to think we (me + 10 milers) had lost our zest for each other. Whew….close call.

  9. 10 miles seems like a loooong way to me these days, but these posts have me craving a training plan and and race !

  10. Pingback: The Tempo Push | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

