Roasted Red Pepper & Bean Burrito

A blog post by Alyssa (Inspired RD) earlier this week titled, “Breaking News Alert! RDs Splurge Too!” was too true to ignore. Yes we eat healthy, and are advocates for these lifestyles and good changes. But, this says it all:

“I wanted to know what {an RD’s} latest food-related splurge was.  Responses came within minutes, meaning they didn’t have to think long and hard about it.  These splurges were very recent!”

I sort of love this; honesty, and humility. Nope, we don’t eat health food all day, every day & think of veggies as dessert. But we find a balance and choose the veggies, whole grains, fruits & nutrient-dense options because those are foods most of us actually enjoy.

All of that being said, here’s a little DOTR Confession:

Sunday night, on the way home from the grocery store (emphasized because clearly we had options, in fact the bagged goodies were still in the car), we impulsively stopped at Chipotle for dinner.

I honestly can’t remember the last time I bought Chipotle for myself (I can remember the last time it was a catered lunch at the store), but I can honestly say it was deeelicious. I had a veggie bowl with brown rice, black beans, guac and a side of our own tortilla chips (so the groceries did come in handy).

So GOOD.

 

A few more, just for fun?

We live ONE block from one of Denver’s best ice-cream shops, we went once a week (if not more) for the first few weeks in this apartment. We’ve since learned to resist, and had our first cone in almost a month a few days ago – which made it taste even better.

I currently get my dose of healthy nuts in the form of LARABARs. I bought raw pecans for the first time in months and almost forgot how good they are without dates & spices.

I’ve had a bag of Kamut in my cupboard for two months. I bought it on a whim at Whole Foods one day, because they were out of Quinoa. Truth be told, I have no idea what to do with it and from what I’ve read it takes a long time to cook. Gah, so much trouble, some of these grains.

****

Alright, back to burrito talk!

Chipotle actually sparked a few cravings this week, so last night we finally had our own burritos. The above-mentioned groceries are already getting low, but that doesn’t mean dinner can’t be just as tasty as their version.

Roasted Red Pepper & Bean Burritos
(makes 2 servings)

roastedredpepper&beanburrito 002roastedredpepper&beanburrito 006

2 roasted red peppers, drained and sliced
~1/4 c onion slices
1 T Olive Oil

1 c Vegetarian Refried Beans
2 whole wheat tortillas (or brown rice tortillas, for GF)
1/2 Avocado, peeled & sliced
Shredded cheese (we used mozzarella because we had some, cheddar or a Mexican blend would work well, too)

Preheat oven to 400*. Heat oil over medium in a sauté pan, add onions. Cook for 3-4 minutes, then add roasted red peppers. Sauté the mixture until onions are soft.

Layer beans, avocado slices, peppers & onions on the tortilla. Roll (and tuck one side to keep all the goods in!), and top with shredded cheese.

Bake for 6-8 minutes, until cheese is melted and tortilla is slightly browned.

roastedredpepper&beanburrito 010
Add some salsa, or green chile, if you so choose. And, enjoy!

******
Anything you want to light heartedly confess? It’s Friday, and you know we don’t judge around here.

3 Comments

Filed under about me, Dietitians, dinners, recipes

3 responses to “Roasted Red Pepper & Bean Burrito

  1. green chiles!

    I am still eating ice cream almost every day.

  2. I LOVE confessions in bloggy land. Reminds me that we’re all real people behind these blogs of ours. I’m officially craving avacado and beans and rice after reading your post. Mmmm.

  3. Mmm…burritos are so simple, yet delish. And they go well with a light beer or a margarita! 🙂 Confession: I made regular choc chip cookies for the manfriend and had a few myself. I was trying to resist the urge, but a few cookies won’t hurt me. I also added in a few crushed pretzels. The salty crunch was a fun surprise inside them.

Let's Hear It!

