Fill In Your Three

This challenge is reminding me why yoga is no fickle friend; you can’t have one happy-hour per week and expect any juicy gossip, or just show up to its party once a month and expect a warm welcome.

Nope, yoga expects much more in a friend. Alex reminded us of this last night, with a simple statement: “We come {to class}, to remind ourselves that only action invokes change.”

But this simple fact is true of anything, right?

If you want to be a faster runner, run faster. You can’t just keep going on your usual jogs and expect something to suddenly be different, and you can’t do the same workouts over and over suddenly expecting the muscles to turn over faster.

If you want to be able to ride a bike for hours on end without crotch pain or muscle cramps, ride farther. Your body will get the hint eventually.

If you want to finally grab your toes, bend your back or twist into full expressions you have to practice yoga, over and over…..and over again.

The only exception I’ve found thus far is one adventure up a mountain, in which we just naively hiked on and on, pushing it until we reached the summit. I wouldn’t say this is the smartest tactic, but hey, it worked.

7.4.2011 078

*****

When we were asked to find our intention(s) last night, my mind went straight to that peak, and the view from the top.

What did that take? What would it take to get there again? What does it take to push muscles, mind & body past where they set a limit?

Be brave; be strong; be optimistic.

I know guys, I’m getting a little heavy on you today – you can blame it on a nice, long savasana.

But hey, I can assure you that little mantra does its tricks.

So, if you had three things you would change with action – what would they be? If you had three pieces to a mantra that would get there, what would they be?

DOTR Mad-Libs addition….Go!

7 Comments

Filed under about me, challenges, Goals, learning, Yoga

7 responses to “Fill In Your Three

  1. This post comes at a perfect time for me, as I embark on something totally new and scary and intimidating! I haven’t quite worked out a mantra yet — hoping something will come to me as I stumble my way through a whole new sport. Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. Great post today and very thought provoking. I will have to get back to you!

  3. my crotch has not yet gotten the hint.

  4. Love this! I can relate to the deep/heavy posts after some insightful yoga practice. 🙂 I’d change with action my approach to budgeting, my plans for advertising on the blog, and searching for more opportunities to share my writing for a living. These are 3 things I’m working towards…always on my to-do list, but I need to take more ACTION! xoxo

  5. Hm. Three things I’d change with action? I’d:
    Be (more) bold.
    Be (more) passionate
    Be (more) willing to take risks.

  6. It’s too funny that you ask specifically for three things, because my go-to mantra is: Strength, power and grace. Reminding myself that I have those three traits, and can use them whenever I choose, is such a help during not only physical challenges, but emotional and spiritual ones as well. Also noteworthy: I took my first yoga class in for-freaking-ever yesterday, and was amazed at how quickly and easily it came back—like an old friend I haven’t called for a while!

  7. sisrocks1996

    Deep posts all around today. I don’t know that I have 3 things in particular I have a lot of things I want to make progress on, but I will say my mantra has always been someone would KILL to be where you are use it because you may not be able to tomorrow. And ugh I took a Ashtanga class today and it totally rocked my world. So sore, btu such a good practice!

Let's Hear It!

