Adventures in the Other Washington

Much like a word-game to fill in the blank, when I hear “Washington”, I think “D.C.”.

This time I was on the opposite coast, in a very different Washington.

SeattleFarmTrip 244SeattleFarmTrip 255

I work in Marketing for Small Planet Foods, part of that family is Cascadian Farm (CF). Our trip to the coast brought us to the home farm, the place CF was born and raised. Welcome to the Cascadian Farm:

SeattleFarmTrip 042SeattleFarmTrip 048
SeattleFarmTrip 066SeattleFarmTrip 072
SeattleFarmTrip 074SeattleFarmTrip 096SeattleFarmTrip 158
SeattleFarmTrip 180
SeattleFarmTrip 183 

Our tour with Farmer Jim only showed us a portion of the farm, stretched over three hours of educational adventuring. Many of the Farmers here have been there for at least 20 years, and they are such a wealth of organic-farming knowledge!

As you can see above, we were well fed for the tour – fresh, organic & homemade broccoli cheddar soup, veggie (or turkey) sandwiches & fresh blueberry ice-cream (definitely worth a West-bound journey!).

Other adventures included an early run along Similk beach, stopping at the lululemon Burlington Outlet store, dropping our bags off at the hotel in Seattle, and explorations in a new-t0-me city.

It was a perfect sunny day, and I completely fell for it. Seattle, you were very charming:

SeattleFarmTrip 194SeattleFarmTrip 241SeattleFarmTrip 309
SeattleFarmTrip 247SeattleFarmTrip 291
SeattleFarmTrip 305SeattleFarmTrip 308
SeattleFarmTrip 293SeattleFarmTrip 301

SeattleFarmTrip 310SeattleFarmTrip 315

Yes, I’ll definitely be back here – for work or pleasure, you won’t have to twist my arm. I tried to remind myself this blue-sky summer day isn’t the norm; Denver welcomed us back warmly on Friday night.

Any Seattle must-see / do that I should add to the list for next time?
We ate lunch at Portage Bay Cafe (huge thumbs up – local food, delicious menu), walked along Pike St to the market of all markets, saw the first Starbucks shop, walked to the edge to look out over the water, and had a glass of vino on a roof-deck at The Pink Room.

If you just under three hours to be a tourist, I’d highly recommend all of the above!

17 Comments

Filed under about me, new things!, things that make me Happy, travel, weekends

17 responses to “Adventures in the Other Washington

  1. Looks and sounds like a FANTASTIC weekend! I love Seattle!!!

  2. Cascadian Farm looks SO cute! Love the Seattle shots, too. So jealous you got to play there AND in sunny weather to boot!

    Can’t WAIT to see you Thursday!!!! xo

  3. Oh my goodness, I want to be there with you! What an awesome trip..and gorgeous pics. I’ve never been to Seattle so I have no recommendations for you, but I know you’ll have a great time. Enjoy!!

  4. Your trip looks like an amazing time! Enjoy!!!

  5. Liebchen

    I don’t think you were really in Seattle. It’s way too sunny for that. If I’ve learned anything from TV, it’s that Seattle’s always rainy. Nice try, Calcote.

  6. Love the pictures from the farm! Looks adorable. Seattle is a great city. I am usually only there when it’s nice and sunny, but its just as rainy (if not more) than Eugene. Love the fact that the water is right there. Just adds to the beauty of the city.

  7. Claudia

    It looks like you had a nice stay in Seattle. There are so many nice places to see – the piers, the Ballard locks, the Space Needle. If you make it back up here for an extended stay, I definitely recommend a ferry ride over to Bainbridge Island for fabulous vistas and a pretty little town with great shops and good restaurants. Driving south to Mt. Rainier is always worth it, but stunning in the Spring and Fall. There is so much more…
    Oh and the story about gray skies and rain is something we like to tell out of towners to avoid overcrowding of this little corner of the world 🙂 (I am glad you had sunshine)

    • Heather C

      Ha! We all sort of joked about that – saying the sunny, beautiful weather wasn’t a fluke, but actually Seattle’s best-kept secret 😉

  8. what a cool job to take you to a farm like that! i’d love to learn more about your job and cascadian farms! i have never been to seattle but it’s on my list. looks like i’d really like it!

  9. I love all of the Seattle pics! 🙂 I will have to keep your recommendations in mind for when I make a trip some day (hopefully sooner than later).

  10. Beautiful pictures! Seattle is definitely on my “must visit” list.

  11. i’m from nyc, but was just out in seattle for the first time in april. i HIGHLY recommend hitting up a stumptown for coffee (we don’t have the pleasure on this coast). also, there’s an AWESOME cuban sandwich place called “paseo” in ballard by the beach. seriously, amazing. bring cash, and be ready to wait in a little line. but it’s oh so worth it 🙂

  12. Mamacita

    Blueberry ice cream – now that is a new flavor. So glad you enjoyed your Seattle visit ~ I have only been once but fell in love with the city just as you did. The pics are beautiful and glad you got to see the market of all markets. We visited the market every day – it was within walking distance of our hotel – heart that place.

    Love, Mamacita

  13. Great pictures! I’ve never been to Washington (or anywhere in the Pacific Northwest) but would like to.

  14. Hi! i live in Seattle. I’m a transplant and have only been here for about two years but it is a lovely city. Hate the weather but love the city! Next time try a run around Green Lake or some of the neighborhood farmers markets. It is quite touristy during the summer downtown Seattle so it is fun to get into the amazing neighborhoods.

  15. omg. I thought denver was gorgeous! I still have have not been to portland or seattle!

  16. Pingback: 2011: The Loud Year | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

