Summer Smoothie Return!

Yesterday morning started with Anusara Yoga, something my muscles haven’t been treated to in well over a week. The other thing they’ve missed? Stretching.

I couldn’t touch the ground, or even my feet, in a forward fold. Yeowch.

It quickly became clear that my routine was a little out of balance, those poses doesn’t come back as easily as I want them to!

That’s okay, Yoga. I know I need to stretch more; I know I need to take care of these muscles if I expect them to do the same for me. I still heart you, and I’ll be back more often in the coming weeks, don’t you worry.

******

On the other note, I got in my first run in the new ‘hood on Monday morning. Success! It was sunny, I felt hot for the first time in months (as in exhausted-hot; as in summer is definitely just around the corner!).  I took it easy for what will be my new go-to 5 mile route, ending a little early and enjoying a little cool down.

4.6 miles, 38:01

This week is all about paying even closer attention to refueling – we’ve got a race to run! Summer = SMOOTHIES. Bring on that icy deliciousness! This one is about as simple as it gets:

MemorialWeekend2011 037

1 cup Frozen Berries
1 cup Honey Milk (honey flavor)*
4-5 ice cubes

*This is not normally something I would buy for myself; the folks at HoneyMilk sent me some samples to pass out at the lululemon group run, and taste test. While the taste alone is way too sweet for my preferences, the protein content and short ingredient list is impressive. It was a great addition to my Smoothie!

MemorialWeekend2011 045

Need-a-spoon thick, just the right amount of sweet honey flavor, and ~15g of protein! I was beyond impressed and satisfied with this little cup o’ icy goodness.

And yes, my Basil plant will be prominently featured in many photos, because I love it.

****

The other thing I’m loving? This Kitchen! And the fact that my dishwasher is running right now (meaning I’m not washing the dinner dishes by hand. So wonderful…).

MemorialWeekend2011 038MemorialWeekend2011 039

MemorialWeekend2011 040MemorialWeekend2011 041

What’s in your favorite smoothie mix? Besides green things, which I still haven’t fully embraced.

19 Comments

Filed under about me

19 responses to “Summer Smoothie Return!

  1. Katey

    I had to see what kind of smoothie you were making when I saw the link on Facebook. We have smoothies just about every morning in our house. This morning was: 2 bananas, 1 green apple, about 3 cups of mixed greens, 1/2 cup each strawberries and blueberries, yogurt, hemp powder, flax and enough water to blend. Most days our smoothies are some variation of that. Hope you’re doing well!

  2. Brad P.

    Here is my favorite smoothie mix. I start every morning with one of these, whether I run first thing in the morning or not.

    1 Banana
    4 Farm Fresh Strawberries
    2 tbsp of PB2 Powder Peanut Better
    5 Ice Cubes
    1 Cup of Organic Vanilla Soy Milk

    Blend and Enjoy!

    (I sometimes add in 2 tbsp of Low-Fat Vanilla Yogurt for more calcium/protein; also I sometimes play around with the fruit combos, but only will use strawberries, bananas and blueberries in the smoothie)

  3. Favorite:

    3oz cottage cheese or silken tofu
    1/4 cup milk/soymilk
    1/2 scoop vanilla whey protein powder
    1 cup frozen fruit (preferably including bananas!)

    NOM NOM NOM

  4. I am so jealous of that kitchen!! beautiful!!

  5. Loving the new digs!!!

  6. your new place is gorgeous! i tried chocolate muscle milk and frozen mango, but it was a disaster. sigh.

  7. Abby

    I want a basil plant! 🙂 lol. Every time I read your posts I tell myself that. I just need to make it happen!

    The last smoothie I made had vanilla protein powder, a few strawberries, half of a banana, unsweetened vanilla almond milk, and a big handful of spinach! Yum! 🙂

  8. Lauren

    I just bought a blender so I can start making smoothies! I like the idea of that honey milk. I buy almond milk right now and I was going to go to a GNC or something and get protein powder but yours seems a little more “natural” and maybe healthier…Where can I find the honey milk?? I bought fresh blueberries and watermelon, thought they might be a good add in for smoothies too. 🙂

    • Heather C

      Watermelon can be a ltitle tricky – blueberries though? Good choice! 🙂

      Working on that HoneyMilk answer for ya…

  9. Elizabeth

    Okay, 2 things:

    1) I love that you drink your smoothie out of a wine glass. Everything tastes better that way.
    2) Remember our failed smoothie experiment after the LG party? Who knew frozen berries could be so difficult…

    • Heather C

      1) I’m glad you’re the one who pointed that out 😉 2) I let these berries soak in the milk for a minute or two, I will *never*forget that little disaster…haha.

  10. I haven’t had a smoothie in a while, but I like banana, frozen berries and yogurt. I would definitely try that Honey Milk if it was sold here!

    Your kitchen looks great!!!

  11. whoops ..

    i like frozen raspberries, frozen pineapples, water, shaklee protein powder, chia seeds and flax seed oil
    http://josephinelindgren.myshaklee.com/us/en/products.php?sku=20665
    they have whey option as well and they have a GREAT recovery drink i love …

  12. Such a gorgeous smoothie! Glad you have a new sun-lit kitchen. It’s lovely. I hear you about the yoga/stretching. Life gets going too fast and we have to slow it down and streeeetch it out. It feels so good! But the best is a yoga class where you can’t touch your toes at the beginning and by the end your hands are under your feet. 🙂

  13. Ooh, I love the look of your new kitchen! New appliances and great cabinets! Food making will be great in there. The one thing I wish we had was more counter space. THere’s never enough room for all my cooking/baking stuff.

  14. Joslynn

    Hey Heather! I hope the move went well! I have one favorite smoothie to share:
    1 cup frozen cherries
    1 cup kale or spinach (fresh or frozen)
    1 cup almond milk

    It is surprisingly delicious and not that green-looking.

Let's Hear It!

