Avocado Sunflower Pesto & Orzo

I am quickly discovering there is no shortage of options for this little green fruit. Anything that lends itself to “creamy” has become my new best friend – greek yogurt, avocados, and hummus are kitchen staples that have found new life in ‘creamy’ recipes. I think if searched for said recipes on the side over there (—>), you would have a menu plan for weeks.

My point? Avocados are creamy! And I love them.

Yesterday I found an Avocado pesto recipe, a la Gena, and I was smitten. I was also at the Whole Foods’ cafe, perfect opportunity to pick up some fresh basil before heading home! And that’s called being in the right place at the right time.

avocadopesto 005 Once I got home, I had to do a little box-digging to find a bag of sunflower seeds, and another bag of Orzo. Found!

This would be a creative adventure, hopefully refueling the bike-rider who was on his way home, and hungry.

The Food Processor was ready to make a mess, and into it went the following: 1 avocado, 1 tbsp sunflower seeds, 1 tbsp olive oil, salt shake & 1 cup (+/-) fresh Basil leaves.

While all that was pulsing (i.e. mess-making), the orzo cooked and I chopped cherry tomatoes. Simple meal, with a lot of flavor!

Avocado Sunflower Pesto & Orzo

avocadopesto 009avocadopesto 013

Add some chickpeas (or protein of choice) & a shake of grated parmesan cheese (optional), and enjoy! Other toppings we thought would be good: ground red pepper flakes (if you like spice), roasted red peppers and/or melted mozzarella (because when does that do you wrong?).

******

Happy Friday, amigos!

What’s on your workout + fueling menu this weekend?

I’m heading out for a 10-miler, and soaking in some spring sunshine to kick things off!

12 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, new things!, recipes, training

12 responses to “Avocado Sunflower Pesto & Orzo

  1. That is VERY SIMILAR to a recipe I just made the other day! 😀 I got mine from here:

    So – similar, but with GARLIC which made my taste buds SUPER happy. 🙂

  2. Heather C

    Love it! I had never even heard of Avocado pesto – apparently its a popular alternative to the classic recipe 🙂

  3. YUM!!! So is this eaten at room temp? Did you cold rinse the noodles, or just toss it together warm? Looks good either way! 🙂

    I have a DOTR-inspired tortellini pasta salad on the menu today and I am in LOVE with grilled veggies lately so those will be making an appearance this weekend.

    Have a good one!!!

  4. runyogarepeat

    Wow, this looks so good & easy to make! My workout this weekend is running with kids in 3 races (2 mile, 1 mile, 1/2 mile) tomorrow morning. I’m in charge of “sweeping” and motivating the kids at the end. I’m really excited to run & encourage all the kids since there will be 750 of them!

  5. Abby

    I did a 10 miler on Friday morning as well! First run out with my Garmin! 🙂 Loved it!

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  6. tickledtofu

    Wow that sounds delicious!! Avocados are so delicious and versatile!

  7. What a unique “pesto” — sounds ideal for summer, mmm!

  8. This sounds sooooo good! Loving all those ingredients!

    New to your blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  9. Pingback: avocado basil pesto.

  10. I like the twist on pesto! the avocado definitely makes it extra creamy! cross between a cream sauce and a pesto, yum!

    http://mummyicancook.blogspot.com/2011/04/salmon-korokke-croquette-balls-with.html

  11. Pingback: Basil Tofu Pesto & Pasta | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

