Meatless Monday: Kentuckyaki Tempeh “Bacon” Sandwich

I should probably never be in charge of menu names for a restaurant. I can never decide which ingredient takes priority, and which you should save for a surprise flavor burst.

Fake bacon? Kentuckywhat? Where does a sandwich come into all of this?

FOCUS. Stick with me here!

tempehBaconsandwich 007

I can honestly say I never “miss” meat/poultry/whatever ingredient list makes up Subway deli meat. I don’t purchase the “meat alternatives” like Chick’n or soy “bacons” or “meat(less)balls” because, to me, it seems a little strange to skip the real stuff but go for the fake options.

Then, Ashley posted this recipe. Homemade “bacon”? From tempeh? In a delicious sandwich combination?!

Twist my arm.

tempehBaconsandwich 002tempehBaconsandwich 003
tempehBaconsandwich 004tempehBaconsandwich 002 

Seeing double? Fresh, creamy avocadoes are worth it.

I actually didn’t follow the recipe at all, I just took the idea and went with what we had in the cabinet. Kentuckyaki sauce? Check. Thinly sliced tempeh? Done! Tupperware for marinating? Got it.

The rest of the toppings came from Ashley’s wrap and the coincidence that I picked up those things at the grocery store. Sandwich, win!

Tempeh “Bacon” Sandwich (makes 2)

1/2 Tempeh block, thinly sliced
~1/2 – 1 c marinade (using the recipe, or any sauce you might have on hand)
1 T Olive Oil
4 slices Whole Wheat bread, toasted
1/2 Avocado, thinly sliced
1 fresh tomato, sliced
Lettuce leaves
2 slices Mozzarella Cheese

Heat the oil over medium, add the tempeh and “fry” on each side until crisp (like bacon!). Toast the bread, prep the veggies and get ready to layer it all together!

Bread + Mozzarella + Avocado + Tomato + Lettuce + Tempeh Strips:
tempehBaconsandwich 010

Open wide, and enjoy!

********

Veg-heads: are you a fan of the fake “meat” products?
Meat-lovers: would you try this, just for kicks?

10 Comments

Filed under dinners, Meatless Monday, new things!, recipes

10 responses to “Meatless Monday: Kentuckyaki Tempeh “Bacon” Sandwich

  1. Ah yes, I saw this recipe too and thought YUUUUM. I don’t really understand the use of fake meats that are chalked full of sodium, soy, etc. I’d rather use beans or substitute protein in some other way. I do like tempeh for it’s texture.

  2. Alexis

    I do use the fake stuff from time to time. The problem is that I did not grow up a veggie, nor did I stop eatting them because I don’t like them. So, there are things miss, and the fakes are an easy fix. If there were more time in my life, I would make my own versions so that they’d be a bit more healthy, but alas, I currently don’t have time for much of anything. Keep in mind I’m the only veggie in my house and among friends.

  3. Elizabeth

    You know me, I’m still skeptical of the “meatless” in general. But I also believe that putting cheese on anything makes it better.

    I might try it – but probably only if I’ve already bought tempeh for something else.

  4. I would try ALMOST anything just for kicks. This looks really tasty, although I have been afraid to try tempeh again after one bad experience. Perhaps a different alternative?

  5. Lauren

    Tempeh sounds like kitteh.

    Yea…I have never heard of it. Fail. But it looks yummy! I would probably most likely never buy it myself (seeing as I don’t even know what it is) but if you made it for me I would eat it! Does that count?? 🙂

    • Heather C

      You can find it at that TJ’s right around the corner! 🙂 It’s a soy-based meat substitute – I actually think you’d like it. I’ll definitely make you something with it when I come visit!

  6. Jamie

    I have tried tempeh at Whole Foods, and the Market on Larimer (love their sweet and sour tempeh) and I like it there. However, when I have made it at home, I hate it. It tastes bitter and gross so I must be doing something wrong… Maybe marinating it would take out some of the bitterness?

    • Heather C

      This is actually the BEST way I’ve ever prepared Tempeh – I’m not a huge fan of it either (but would take it over tofu ANY DAY), but this was so tasty 🙂 I loved the crisp, and it would work with any marinade.

  7. Amy

    This looks really good! My hubs and I were veggies for a while and now we’re flexitarians, but seriously considering the shift back to veg-heads! This recipe is making me come closer to the decision 🙂

Let's Hear It!

