Denver Newbies: Spring in the Mile High City

This weekend, I realized I have a crush on Denver.

Moving to a new city in November doesn’t really lend itself to an immediate attraction. The weather is cooling off, the plant life is dying, and the people are starting to hibernate for the winter.

Now, it’s an entirely different story.

It’s suddenly refreshing, with its sunshine, green lawns, full trees, shady streets, and people-packed parks. Yes, I’m officially swooning over this Mile High City. It may not have been love at first sight (DC takes the cake with that one), but now I am feeling wooed by the summer charm.

WashParkSpring 002WashParkSpring 003WashParkSpring 028

My weekend started with an early, Friday Fourteener. I did my usual route, looping around the Cherry Creek trail and around Wash Park, ending on an incline up to the house. The camelbak accompanied me again (it’s been a while), as did a short sleeve tech tee. After a full week of rainy days, this sunshine could not have had better timing – 14 miles, 1:53, avg 8:06 – check!

*****

Saturday: Sunny & Spring-style.

The Farmers Markets are open again, the park is crowded and totally green. We bought fresh tomatoes, and sampled plenty of local bakery treats. Then, as D headed off with the team, I took my bike down to Wash Park for a few laps (2 miles per loop), and soaked it all in.

I’m head over heels.

WashParkSpring 008WashParkSpring 018WashParkSpring 016
WashParkSpring 009WashParkSpring 015
WashParkSpring 019WashParkSpring 021

WashParkSpring 024WashParkSpring 043
WashParkSpring 031WashParkSpring 032WashParkSpring 047
WashParkSpring 036WashParkSpring 064
WashParkSpring 052WashParkSpring 055

I suspect many more weekends will look like all of the above, and I can’t wait.

Denver,  I think we have a good thing going here.

12 Comments

Filed under about me, bike rides, Denver, Exploring Colorado, training, weather love, weekends

12 responses to “Denver Newbies: Spring in the Mile High City

  1. You have a way of making ANY city sound fantastic. And I totally believe you!

  2. Definitely looks like a beautiful weekend, H. How was your coffee w/ Morgan? I hope we get a little recap! Cheers to sun. It wasn’t that “sunny” per se here, but it was warmish at times and didn’t really rain so that’s a plus! Nice pace on the LR.

  3. Yay! You know this sounds like my ideal weekend. I’m so glad that you’ve fallen in love with Denver during this beautiful time of year! I remember family vacations to Colorado in the summertime and I loved the weather and the mountain air. Beats the hell out of the humidity and rain in Dallas right now. 😉

  4. Anna

    This makes me excited to move to Denver in July! Especially since it’s going to be 100 in Phoenix this week!

  5. I think Denver is making you a faster runner, haha. But really, its gorgeous. I agree.

  6. Such a good point about how weather plays a role in how you feel about a city. Spring time and fall make me adore Virginia, but the ‘Indian summers’? Not as much!

  7. How is the happiness project so far? I saw it at the bookstore and was thinking of reading it.

    • Heather C

      I’ve enjoyed it! A little boring at times, but the overall messages are definitely worth soaking in 🙂

  8. Mamacita

    Love this blog and pics – so glad you are falling in love with Denver because we love having you two closer. We are looking forward to a Denver trip or two this summer.
    Mamacita

  9. Lauren

    I want to come visit!! Also, I am excited for you and D to come visit here! I already have some fun things planned out 😀 yippeeee!

  10. Great photos and I love, love, love spring in the mountains. It is tough getting through the rain we have been having, but the end is in sight.

Let's Hear It!

