Waking Up in Minneapolis

The work crew and I left bright and early yesterday morning for a quick two-day adventure to Minneapolis. I’ve never been to this city before, and I doubt we could’ve picked a better week to come. We left a grey, rainy sky behind in Denver (quit it, Denver, we miss the sun!) and were welcomed by a sunny blue one here. Success!

I skipped the usual Monday a.m. run, in leiu of sleeping until at least 4:30 a.m.. I packed running gear just in case, as always, and when we drove around Nicollet Island last night I knew I had to get in on this Minneapolis running thing. We may not be anywhere close to those gorgeous trails, but I had hopes the roads around our hotel would lead me astray for at least a few miles. 

I set the alarm for 5:45 and headed out into the sunrise, with no clue where the legs would lead me.


Luckily I threw that long-sleeve shirt in at the last minute; add it to my “DC Tee” (see it under there?) and shorts, for the right cool Spring morning attire.

I got out of the “shopping” area pretty quickly and found some neighborhood roads to wind around. No music, no one to chat with, just some signs of summer and house-lined streets. It was just what I needed, waking up for another day with another run.

*****

Thank you, Minneapolis, for the sunshine! I’ll be back with more time to explore you at some point, but until then this filled the gap.

5 Comments

Filed under new things!, running, travel

5 responses to “Waking Up in Minneapolis

  1. that island looks cool !

  2. Lacey

    i LOVE running to “meet” new places. it makes you feel more at home. having the garmin is a huge help, too, so you don’t feel too lost 🙂 have a good trip!!!

  3. ooh, look at that gorgeous sunrise!

  4. I love exploring a new city on foot! Good way to start your work day!

  5. Pingback: Flashback Friday: Grad Cap to Pyramid Topper | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

