Attitude Comes Early

My body really questioned why I thought it was a good idea to run this morning; feeling tired, sore and looking at a long run on the schedule tomorrow are all reasons to stay in bed.

But, my mind gave me more reasons to get up.

I am first and foremost a morning runner. I’d much rather get up early and start my day with an endorphin rush (of all kinds), than wait and go at the end of a long day. Sure, there are evening workouts that I wouldn’t trade for anything – cool Fall nights, group runs, twilight races, winding down with Yoga. But, if I had to choose, I would set the alarm earlier and wake up with an energy boost.

It never gets easier to wake up, it just becomes a habit. My attitude about it never changes, and my habit likes to stick around.

{Stepping off soap box} I promised myself today would be easy, and I’d be happy to have done it. I pushed tomorrow’s long one out of mind, laced up the shoes and headed out. It was a simple 5 mile route I’ve done plenty of times, and with a slow warm-up mile I fell right into negative splits.

Thanks, legs! You know how I like it.

The rain here finally stopped after two straight days (Denver, what was that all about?!), and everything is very much alive, green, and full of spring. Five miles of soaking it all in, and checking the “easy” box for the week!

Tomorrow, we go long.

*******

What’s on your weekend workout agenda?

8 Comments

Filed under about me, doin things My way, early morning, training

8 responses to “Attitude Comes Early

  1. Kathleen

    Superhero 1/2 Marathon on Sunday morning is my weekend agenda! Before the race I’m planning on relaxing, fueling up with some good foods, and spending time with family. Thanks for the post, because I have been dreading my 4.5 mile run that I have to do in about 30 minutes. HA! PS: I used to live in Washington Park….now back in Jersey. Have a wonderful weekend!

  2. I have a 10k on Sunday, so I think I’ll take a rest day tomorrow since I’m working in the morning and its supposed to rain all day. Tonight I might do yoga or something low key after work. I couldn’t get it together to get up this morning for a morning workout (story of my life!)!

  3. Ohhhhhh just a little 26.2 on my agenda! EEEK! And we have two full days of rain & wind ahead. Love-ly.

    Nice job on that AM run. It’s tough when the alarm goes off, but sooo worth it once you get out there!

    Have a great weekend!

  4. Jamie

    I am sick (again) so I am just hoping to get in some activity this weekend. I would like to get some strength training in and a 3 mile run. I started running outside since the weather is nicer and it is so much more fun than the treadmill!

  5. You are a running machine! As long as your legs are feeling good, I think it’s great to go for it. 🙂 And I agree about morning workouts, but I’m not one to set my alarm before 6:00AM. It’s just not happening these days! I
    ll have plenty of those early mornings when Billy and I have kids. Haha.

  6. that’s awesome that your morning run went so well! 🙂

    this weekend i have a couple insanity workouts plus a rest day on my agenda!

  7. At this point in the year in Central Florida, if I’m not running early I’m running in 90 plus degrees with 80% humidity. Not fun, so morning runner or not, early running it is.

  8. Pingback: Tired for Twelve | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

