Just How I Wanted to Wake Up

I woke up sharply at exactly 4 a.m. to the sound of my heart beating out of my chest.

Or, wait, is that someone knocking on our door?!

Oh, it’s both.

funny-pictures-scared-cat-asks-to-sleep-with-you
heh. source.

When you lived in a {supposedly} secure house, there are only so many people that could be knocking on the door that early. My mind of course went to every worst-case scenario, because D is traveling for work (of all days!) and, in case you missed it, it was FOUR A.M.. Geeze.

Things were sorted out, cars needed to be moved (at. four. a.m.) and it wasn’t a big deal. But, let’s just say I was awake even earlier than I had already intended to be.

Early rise, early start to the run!

*****

I had 11 miles on deck, and wanted to run 6-7 around a 7:45 pace. Ideally it would’ve been a 7:40 (close to race-pace), but I could tell right away that it wasn’t one of those days. It was a lot warmer than I anticipated though, and at this point in the morning I was taking these small victories.

The route was simple but a little hillier than anticipated. I did hit that 7:45-7:50 pace; thank you for cooperating, legs! Then, because I’m brilliant, that last two miles were almost entirely uphill. By this point my long-sleeve shirt was totally inappropriate, but the sunshine was beautiful. I finished strong and happy with having this 11-miler done!

11.07 miles, 1:30:03 (avg 8:08)

100_1392 100_1398

*****

Now, the weekend can be dedicated to graduation festivities, an afternoon at the Vineyard (camera in tow) and enjoying some downtime with the Family!

Happy Friday!

11 Comments

Filed under early morning, loooong runs, running, training

11 responses to “Just How I Wanted to Wake Up

  1. Elizabeth

    I used to be a morning runner. (I know it’s hard to believe, but I really, truly did.) But I was never a 5:30am runner, because that is crazy.

    However, good for you for getting it done. And yay for graduations! (And enjoy that vineyard extra for me!)

  2. I would have FREAKED if someone knocked on my door that early, especially if my husband wasn’t home!! You are braver than I could be – and damn, you are fast! Nice job on the early-AM run! happy weekend!

  3. Dustin

    ‘because i’m brilliant’, haha that made me LOL.
    So excited for this weekend, Heather!!

  4. Oh man, I know that feeling. I hate heart racing inducing moments. Glad you needed to be up early anyway though. Can’t be that mad. Nice work on the 11 miles! And have a great weekend. It’s always a relief to have your big run outta the way so you can just enjoy the festiveness.

  5. 4:00AM knock on the door is NOT OK! I would have freaked out and probably hid in my closet and called the police…assuming Billy wasn’t home. 🙂 But good for you busting out 11 awesome miles before the crack of dawn. Enjoy your weekend!

  6. 4am car move? Well at least you got in your run…HOORAY!

  7. Ack, NOT fun to wake up to a door knock at that hour! Glad everything is OK.

    Big congrats on the STRONG 11.

    Now enjoy the weekend!!

  8. purpleshoe runs

    oh MAN I miss waking up early and heading OUT for a run. you’ve officially made me jealous : ) awesome numbers there, miss!

  9. Caroline

    Congrats for getting it done. I love to running but lately don’t have the time. Your determination is wonderful.

  10. holy cow, I hate that kind of stuff… my adrenaline gets so whacky I either then have a really great run or really off. glad yours went well and hope the whole weekend was amazing

  11. Pingback: Progressing to Week 2 | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

