Sweet Potato ‘Italian’ Hummus Burritos

If that title doesn’t make you curious, we may not have a lot in common.

Quick New-Mexi-food lesson for you: Enchiladas are made with corn tortillas, Burritos are made with flour tortillas. Stick to these standards; you’ll appreciate the taste difference! And feel free to educate where necessary, I’m thanking you in advance.

Last night, my body needed post-group-run* and pre-Warrior-workout fuel. A few days ago, I found this recipe and knew this had to be done in my kitchen.

(On that note, check out Rae’s blog – a ton of great recipes over there!)

There are a food adjustments and additions to make it my own, feel free to do the same for your taste buds.

Aside from how creative it is and how curious that makes me, I’ll take any excuse to make burritos or enchiladas. So, here we go!

*Denver runners–come join the lululemon group run, every Wednesday at 6:30 pm!
******

sweetpburritos 002 sweetpburritos 004

In the Food Processor:
1 1/2 c Chickpeas, rinsed & drained
1 small sweet potato (washed, peeled & microwave cooked for ~3 minutes)
1/4 Red Pepper, sliced
~1 tsp Olive Oil,
Shake of: Black Pepper, Dried Basil & Oregano

Pulse until creamy and smooth – creating a hummus texture.

4-5 Whole wheat tortillas*
~1 cup Marinara sauce
1 – 2 slices Mozzarella cheese (or Shreeded mozzarella)**
Grated Parmesan cheese, optional

*Depends on how much hummus-mixture you put into each
**I made one batch with cheese (1 slice split between two), up to you!

Heat the Oven to 400*. Spray your casserole dish(es) (I used two small ones); scoop ~1/4 cup of Marinara sauce and spread on the bottom (just enough to cover the bottom of the pan). Roll ~1/2 cup of the hummus-mixture into each tortilla – I spread it out into 5 burritos. Stack them side by side, and cover the top with another ~1/4-1/2 cup Marinara sauce (I didn’t measure this; enough to cover the top so the tortillas don’t dry out as it bakes). Optional: sprinkle grated parmesan cheese on top, and/or top with shredded mozzarella.

sweetpburritos 005 sweetpburritos 007 sweetpburritos 009
sweetpburritos 010  sweetpburritos 015
sweetpburritos 011

Bake for ~5 minutes; until burrito is slightly browned and the cheese is melted.

I barely had the patience to photograph these; dig in, and enjoy! This is one of my new favorite, easy, healthy dishes. It was about a 15 minute process, and couldn’t have tasted better!

The red pepper flavor stood out; the creamy texture was a perfect burrito filler; the italian sauce and seasonings made for a unique burrito experience, one that I’ll be re-creating soon!

******

Do you have a random food lesson for me? I’m all ears!

11 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, new things!, recipes, running, Spin

11 responses to “Sweet Potato ‘Italian’ Hummus Burritos

  1. I had no idea re: burriots & enchilladas! Thanks for the lesson. I don’t think I’ve ever even had a corn tortilla. :/

    Looks tasty as always.

    Random food lesson: did you know that a raisin is actually a dried grape?? ahahahaha… MY HUSBAND DIDN’T UNTIL RECENTLY. omg, I could not stop laughing when there was a shrivelled up grape in our bunch and he said “hey, that kind of looks like a raisin!” toooo funny.

    • Heather C

      Haha! I DID know that, thankfully (for my case, it’d be embarassing if I hadn’t….). 🙂 D didn’t know pickles were pickled-cucumbers for a while, heh. Always love hearing that story.

  2. That looks really cool. I love the idea of making hummus that way too. Tomorrow, we’re using corn tortillas for tacos.:)

  3. Rae

    Hey thanks for the accolades on the recipe! Yours looks delicious as well… I’ll have to try that variation! 🙂

  4. theveryhungrybookworm

    That looks delicious! I love the mixture of mexican and italian! Nice idea 🙂

  5. Mmm…sounds delish! Anything with a sweet potato in it is up my alley.

  6. ya, those would have not been photographed in our house. They are too good looking to just sit there. WOW! I love everything about this recipe. Goodness heather, thank you!

  7. These look fabulous and easy! Definitely a finals week choice 🙂

  8. I love your teachings on tortillas! You know I knew that being from Texas. It’s crucial! And Billy makes homemade corn tortillas so I’m spoiled. This dish looks creative and delicious. I wish I could come to your Denver lululemon running group. 🙂

  9. i strangely just made some black bean and cheese tacos-with corn tortillas of course. ..and randomly checked out your blog. So happy to see what you are passion along missy.

Let's Hear It!

