The Bunny Cake Weekend

We pulled into Denver late last night, after a full weekend at home with the Fam. It’s still new to me that I can drive down to see them, planned out or on short notice. For the first time in six years, I got to spend Easter at home!

D and I headed down late on Thursday, stopped for the night, and finished it up on Friday. We packed a lot into 2 1/2 days; I’ll let the photos do the talking.

Things started with an all-gals-in (Sis & her friend Kelly, Mom, me) hill-walk on Friday afternoon, and the beginning of the Bunny Cake construction (a la Kelly, the Cake PRO). We followed this up with homemade pizza night, four pies total!  All the while, D needed to unwind from the week with a cat-nap.

IMG_0382 IMG_0376 IMG_0373
IMG_0390 IMG_0399

Lauren & I woke up for a run on Saturday morning, before the fancy breakfast. I took her through 6 miles, and added on some hill-repeats, because we felt tough. We had fresh French toast waiting for us, and a whole Saturday of lounging ahead…

IMG_0402 IMG_0406

Kelly kept trucking on the cake, and we saw a lot of progress over a few hours:

IMG_0415 IMG_0417 IMG_0421 Don’t question ‘Cake Pro’ title.  I’m still in awe of those skills!

Easter morning started with Lauren showing me how to work my core, P90X style!
IMG_0427 IMG_0428
And wow, that guy is no joke. He’ll find where it burns, and keep pressing the button.
Then, we got dressed up and classy, and finished off the day as tradition calls:
IMG_0441 IMG_0434
IMG_0447 IMG_0450 IMG_0463
IMG_0452 IMG_0479 IMG_0480
IMG_0457 IMG_0460
IMG_0471 IMG_0491

******

With just enough to sleep to conquer this Monday, we’re back!

12 Comments

Filed under about me, family, holidays, travel, weekends

12 responses to “The Bunny Cake Weekend

  1. Elizabeth

    I would have felt so guilty cutting into that cake. It looks so perfect!

    (But I’ll bet it was delicious!)

  2. oh, it looks like you had a wonderful weekend! and that cake is, um, AMAZING!

  3. Awesome that you got to spend Easter weekend with the fam, and OF COURSE got your workout on with the sis!

    Love your green dress!

  4. Lauren

    Love love loveee this post!! yay you finally coming home for Easter again! 😀 See you in two weeks…woot woot!

  5. That sounds like a whirlwind weekend, but majorly fun. That cake is so impressive! I’ve been wanting to try P90X. Sounds tough. Happy Easter!

  6. that is some serious cake skill! WOW! I love all the beautiful family photos. FUN TIMES!

  7. This makes me so happy that you and D could spend Easter at home with your family!! Well worth the drive for all that family time, running, and delicious food. I hope your week is off to a great start. 🙂

  8. That cake is seriously amazing. And so detailed. Glad you had a good Easter too.

  9. JEEZE LOUISE!!! all that food…!!! i’m starved now.

  10. Mamacita

    Love this post and all the cute pics. It was such a fun weekend. So glad you and D could be here. See you in less than two weeks. Love, Mamacita

  11. OMG that cake is SO good! I wouldn’t even attempt something like that. lol

    Great job!

    • Heather C

      Ha, Oh I wouldn’t either! It probably took ~8 hours total (not including the baking part). My sister’s friend did it, and she does these kind of cakes a few times a month! We keep telling her to make a business out of it 🙂

Let's Hear It!

