Veggie Burger Round-Up!

If there was only one way to convince someone that ‘going Veg’ isn’t so bad, it would be a homemade veggie burger done right. You should probably add a side of sweet-potato fries, to really make your point, but that’s optional.

I’ve seen these patties dressed in many outfits, and I’d be lying if I said I could pick a favorite style.

Sorry, beans, I have no loyalty.

Now one of my favorite easy, healthy meals, I had never tried to make my own before last April. Now, I make them quite frequently, and with anything on hand. So, in the event we have some veg-burger newbies out there, I bring you the Round-Up!

newfoodprocessor 024  newfoodprocessor 005

OLD BAY VEGGIE BURGERS – Baking Directions Here
1 cup Chickpeas, cooked & rinsed
1/2 Zucchini, sliced thinly
1/4 Red Pepper, chopped
1 clove fresh Garlic, minced
Old Bay, S&P
1/4 Yellow onion, chopped
1 tbsp Canola Oil
1/2 cup Whole Wheat Flour
2 tbsp Sunflower Seeds
newfoodprocessor 030

Topping Options: Smoked Gouda, Mild Cheddar, and/or Avocado Slices.
*******
BASIL BLACK BEAN BURGERS Baking Directions Here
2-3 leaves Fresh Basil
1 c Black Beans, rinsed
1/2 zucchini, sliced
~2 tbsp purple onion, chopped (give/take for taste preferences)
Salt & Pepper (a shake or two)

1/2 cup whole wheat flour
2 tbsp Sunflower Seeds
Mozzarella Cheese (optional)

100_1152 100_1155

Other suggested toppings: Avocado, Guacamole, Roasted Red Peppers, Pepper-jack cheese.

******
CHICKPEA BASIL CELERY BURGERS
1 c Chickpeas, rinsed
1/2 c Celery, chopped
1/4 c Purple onion, chopped
3-4 leaves Fresh Basil, torn
Shake of Salt & Pepper
Pinch of Thyme

1/2 c Whole Wheat Flour

Pulse all top ingredients in a food processor. Scoop it out and mix flour in with a spoon. Form into 4 patties. Bake at 400* for 10 minutes on one side, 8-9 on the other!

4.21 004 4.21 009

There are those fries! Easy as this:

1 sweet potato, rinsed & peeled, cut into strips (or chips!)
~1 Tbsp Olive Oil
Seasoning of Choice: Nutmeg, Cinnamon, Chili powder, S&P

(The above pictured: Nutmeg, highly recommended!)
Bake at 400* for ~15-20 minutes (until crisp!).

********

To branch out, I’ll let these ladies take over:

‘Ultimate Veggie Burger’ – Beet Style (as mentioned in the comments yesterday!)
Zesty Italian Burgers – via Ashley
Jiffy Spelt Burgers – via Angela
“Cheese” Stuffed Bean Burgers – via Mama Pea
Black Bean & Pumpkin Burger – via Anne P
KERF Bean Burger – via Kath (no Food Processor necessary!)

This could go on for a while…
(DCR, are you convinced yet??)

The options are endless! What’s your favorite burger combo?

Happy Holiday weekend, however you choose to celebrate (or just relax)!

12 Comments

Filed under dinners, food, lunches, Meatless Monday, recipes, vegetarian

12 responses to “Veggie Burger Round-Up!

  1. runyogarepeat

    Black bean burgers with guac are my favorite! I also love chickpea burgers, so I’ll have to try out your recipe.

  2. You had me at old bay…I am obsessed with that seasoning blend right now!

  3. Elizabeth

    I have some Old Bay in our cabinets right now because I used to use it (quite liberally) on veggie stir-frys. I don’t use it as much anymore, but I’ll eat pretty much anything with Old Bay on it.

  4. Oooh, these look great! And thanks for the link shout! 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  5. I love veggie burgers! Making a batch of 4-6 and eating throughout the week. I like them on top of salads. My favorites tend to be black bean based, but I love chickpeas, too. And sweet potato fries really does seal the deal.

  6. I loved veggie burgers way before I gave up meat. Yum, black beans!

  7. Definitely book-marking! MMMM burgers.

    Have a great weekend!

  8. i am really liking chickpea burgers these days. So nutty! Plus all that protein. AWESOME!

  9. Oooh these look great! I only ever buy the frozen kind. I’m going to have to try this. I only hope my food processor can handle it!

  10. Edith

    Thanks for the OldBay Veggie Burger recipe… I made a soup last week and instead of putting OldBay in, I accidently shook in Taco Seasoning… I’ve used the two seasonings almost interchangeably recently. I’ll try to get the correct one this time 🙂

  11. YUM those all sound awesome! Thanks for including me 🙂

Let's Hear It!

