This Week: Go Screen Free!

As I type this up, I thought it’d be appropriate to turn off the TV playing for no reason in the background (I rarely pay attention, it’s usually just white noise). Instead, I turned on some tunes and read a few pages in the book.

The latter is much more relaxing than the arguments between the Real Housewives of Orange County. Adios, Bravo!

The team at WeCan! (Ways to Enhance Children’s Activity and Nutrition) provided me with their fun, creative cookbook, and also informed me that this is “Screen-Free Week”. From April 18-24, take note of the urge to grab the remote and press “On”. Is whatever you’re about to watch really that intriguing, necessary or entertaining? Would that time be better spent with a book, or a chat with a friend, or really any form of physical activity?

9.10 018 9.10 154 ccreservoirride 011 Boulder 007

This Screen-Free week is technically targeted for families and kids who spend way too many hours per week mindlessly watching the tube or playing on the keyboard than they do outside, with each other or making the heart pump. There’s an entire list of creative ideas for keeping the switch to “off” and getting out, instead.

That being said, I think we could all use a step-back week, yes?

This doesn’t mean cut yourself off entirely (feel free to do so, though!).Here was a good tip they provided for cutting down the hours of the bright glare:

Set Screen Time Limits: Create a house rule that limits screen time to two hours every day

My parents did this when we were growing up! There were various methods used over the years to cut down our “Screen Time”, but the one that usually stuck was a 2-hour limit. Of course we disliked it then, but in retrospect, we survived! And we spent much more time kicking around a soccer ball, playing upstairs together, or reading a library book because of it.

Anyway, my Screen-Free week started this afternoon! D left early for some work-travel, and I had sunshine and blue skies ready for some attention.

It was a needed rest-day, but that doesn’t mean I can’t walk and have a photo shoot with the signs of Spring…

4.17 010 4.17 012 4.17 016  4.17 020 4.17 025

4.17 022 4.17 024 4.17 026 4.17 028 4.17 030

What will your focus turn to this week to stay away from the screen?

Exception: The Boston Marathon tomorrow! I’ll be watching a lot of runners, including Kara of course, and can not wait to see how everyone does!

8 Comments

Filed under about me

8 responses to “This Week: Go Screen Free!

  1. OOh, looks like such a beautiful day in Denver!! We didn’t have rain so I’m calling that a success. I was just thinking today that I should spend some time each night reading a book rather than just surfing the blogs and I hadn’t even heard of this movement. Man, I know some families who could seriously use some major outdoor time. It’s pretty sad.

  2. I’m JEALOUS of the nice weather. It’s been cold, wet and windy here – even some snow.

    Screen-free… love this! I’m guilty of keeping the TV on for “white noise” – totally unnecessary. Will try to cut down on that this week! Thanks for sharing!!

  3. mamacita

    oh my I love this post for so many reasons. Glad you are going screen free for a week. Your pics are so gorgy and I am you are enjoying the beautiful spring days.

    Love, Mamacita

  4. I think this is an awesome idea for the week. I don’t watch much TV, but there are times when it’s on for background noise and I need to just switch it off. There are a million better ways to spend our time. I have a huge to-do list with some blog stuff, writing, a yoga challenge, working at lulu, run group, etc, so I’m going to focus on all of those things! 🙂

  5. Elizabeth

    I do like this idea. There have been times that I find myself flipping through the channels, not seeing anything I like, and I finally realize, hey! I can turn this off! But, that said, sometimes after a long day the mindless stuff is what I’m craving.

  6. Great photos! I especially like the last two.

  7. Abby

    I’m so guilty of this! I always have the tv on in the background for white noise so unless it is a program I want to watch (like Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution) I will play music instead! 🙂

    I love the photos of the flowering trees! So beautiful!

  8. Lauren

    Oh the chips…tv chips that is. Great idea by ma now that I think back on it. Yay playing in the basement for 5 hours instead of watching tv when we were little! or playing school…doom on you. ha. I will be spending my time in the library instead of in front of the tv. Not very exciting but hey it will get me that much closer to graduating!! 😀 Now if only I could stay off facebook…

Let's Hear It!

