Creamy Lemon Basil Pasta

Basil is totally stealing the show this week.

On the exercise front, this has been a successful “recovery” week. I have a goal-race and goal-time in mind for next month, therefore I’m taking it easy right now. I treated the muscles to some much-needed Yoga on Tuesday morning, and my hips & thighs were sore yesterday…Alex never lets us by easy! But those sore legs were up tested on a run Wednesday morning, and pulled through without question.

Stretch: Check. Run easy: Check! Stay strong: Here we go…

Today, I’m up for another early morning of Warrior Work with the Ryders.

And in the meantime, I’ll feed you this week’s second successful recipe experiment.

100_1149

Creamy Lemon Basil Pasta

1 zucchini, sliced
1/4 purple onion, sliced
1 tbsp Olive Oil
~2-3 servings of pasta ( I used less than half the box)
           *Quinoa Linguine, but any noodle would work
1/2 cup Plain Greek Yogurt (I used non-fat)
1 Lemon
3-4 leaves Fresh Basil, torn/chopped
Black pepper

Cook pasta as directed (i.e. boil water and throw it in!). Heat oil over in a separate saute pan, add onions and stir until they begin to soften. Add zucchini & a shake of pepper.

In a small bowl, squeeze the lemon juice out of one full lemon.

Drain pasta, stir in the carmelized onions and sauteed zucchini. Turn heat on low; add Greek Yogurt, lemon juice and basil. Stir until mixed thoroughly.

100_1150

This might be one of my favorite dishes that I’ve “created”. The lemon flavor was strong and zesty, the basil is always a good touch, and the creaminess was just right. This could easily be a bed for grilled fish, too.

*****

And with that, I’m off! Time to get the blood flowing and the heart pumping.

15 Comments

Filed under dinners, new things!, recipes, recovery, strength train too!

15 responses to “Creamy Lemon Basil Pasta

  1. Glad you are having a recovery week! I’m excited to hear more about your future race plans. This pasta dish looks delicious – I love that we can use yogurt (or hummus for dairy-free) to make a creamy, healthy pasta dish!

  2. carmelized onions are one of my favorite things, yum! and this looks fabulous!

  3. This needs to be in my belly right now and it’s only 10:30 am. *Drool* Marking this as favorite to make when I return from Boston!

  4. Laurie

    The pasta looks amazing! For a cool twist on adding veggies to pasta dishes, I like to grate zucchini (the long way) using the wide holes on a cheese grater so it comes out long and stringy like the pasta. I also like to grate sweet potato or butternut squash for some extra color (and nutrients!).

  5. oh yum! i love basil and will cook with it any opportunity i get – like this pasta salad! 🙂 can’t wait to try it!

  6. Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

  7. That looks so good! And like something I could actually make. I’m probably the worst cook the ADA has ever seen.

    Where do you buy quinoa noodles? Whole Foods? I have definitely not seen them at my grocery stores, but would like to try them.

  8. I’m going to have to try greek yogurt in making a creamy pasta – great idea!!

    Hope you had a great workout at Ryders… no doubt!

  9. Abby

    Oh my yum! This sounds so good! Basil has got to be my favorite herb! 🙂

  10. I love zucchinis in cream with pasta, it’s a great combination.

  11. Lemon basil pasta, sounds refreshing 🙂

    “Anyone who lives within their means suffers from a lack of imagination. ”
    –Oscar Wilde

  12. Lemon-y pastas are my favorite in the spring. Especially when it involves basil too. Looks fantastic!

  13. Pingback: Lemon Basil Pasta « Abz 'n' Oats

Let's Hear It!

