Basil Black Bean Burgers

I played hostess and tried a new recipe for the second night in a row, things are getting crazy over here! Luckily I have very trusting friends, who aren’t afraid to try a kitchen experiment or two. Luckily I didn’t disappoint their taste buds.

100_1152

Basil Black Bean Burgers
(All recipes names should be alliterations from now on – fun, yes?)

2-3 leaves Fresh Basil
1 c Black Beans, rinsed
1/2 zucchini, sliced
~2 tbsp purple onion, chopped (give/take for taste preferences)
Salt & Pepper (a shake or two)

1/2 cup whole wheat flour
2 tbsp Sunflower Seeds
Mozzarella Cheese (optional)

Heat the oven to 375*.

Pulse the first 5 ingredients in a food processor until mixed well (careful not to over-mix, black beans can become too “mushy”). Transfer into a bowl, mix in the seeds, and flour 1/4 cup at a time {I added another ~1 tbsp}, until a dough-like mixture is created. It will be a little sticky, but will form into patties. Place on a greased (PAM) cookie sheet.

Makes 4 patties. Bake for 10-11 minutes on one side; flip, and bake ~7-8 minutes on the other side. Add cheese and melt for ~1 minute.

Serve & enjoy!

100_1155

Side of cabbage slaw with sliced almonds thanks to Alex (and WF). Tasty!

******

Homemade veggie burgers are a great add-what-you-want dinner – what are your go-to add ins? If I’d had them, avocados and roasted red peppers would have been the other alternative!

With these, I was very pleasantly surprised by the fresh Basil flavor. I also love the added texture with the seeds!

16 Comments

Filed under dinners, recipes

16 responses to “Basil Black Bean Burgers

  1. YUMMM! But I keep forgetting to buy black beans! DOH!!

    I like quinoa in bean/veggie patties!! And grainy mustard! MMMM!

  2. holy YUM! i love store-bought black bean burgers, i will DEFINITELY try this one!

  3. These look so delicious! Definitely an avocado and red pepper girl too!

  4. those look awesome!! I love that there is zucchini in it too!

  5. Abby

    I’ve actually never tried homemade veggie burgers! I plan to try it sometime soon!

  6. love the fresh basil addition! great combo.

  7. H, these sound delish (and look it)! I love how simple (few ingredients) your recipes are. Yummm.

    Also, yes, I want to team up with you to do some sort of summer yoga challenge. Let’s get some planning going and have a few fun spins on it.

    PS-It’s killing me that the lululemon online store is all black and just a few items. I go there at least once or twice a week just to browse (as we don’t have a lululemon in Eugene).

  8. i have never made a veggie type burger and i really want to try. i love my veggie chili i make and i assume i could create some veggie chili burger ?

  9. Yum! I’ve made black bean burgers in the past, but it’s been way too long. Bail sounds ideal for springtime flavor. And avocado, of course! Served with roasted sweet potatoes and ketchup, please.

  10. I love the idea of pairing basil with black beans!

  11. I love the addition of sunflower seeds … that must have given it a nice crunch! I’m a fan of rolled oats and a little bit of honey, plus a bunch of spices, for veggie-burger add-ins. Been meaning to try mushrooms, too—though they’re the most obvious ingredient, I’ve never actually added them to a homemade burger.

  12. I saw how many ingredients this recipe requires and I’m sold! And I do love black bean burgers! I’d add a little garlic and chili powder and maybe some cilantro instead of basil and make it more of a southwestern type of burger. Yum!

  13. Pingback: Veggie Burger Round-Up! | Dietitian on the Run

Let's Hear It!

