Now that “Friday” means something

You may or may not have picked up on a few hints throughout the week that things have changed over here; I’ve reentered the “work” world, where Friday actually means something and my daily hours remain consistent. I sit a desk, wear jeans (which is so nice, but I do love stretchy yoga pants), eat lunch around noon, and still have enough time to go work out with my friends in the morning.

It’s a very good change.

****

I feel so lucky to have had my experience with lululemon it’s a company that you never stop learning from. In fact, I have a post coming up soon with what I have learned (re: life skills, goals, etc), so I’ll save the goods for then.

onethingaday Samadhi 4.6 011 3.13 036

Without a doubt, I can say I am in the best shape of life right now. I’m not running my highest mileage, or training for any new endurance challenge, but I feel strong. I’ve shifted my focus in running to speed and half-marathons (for now); I’m hooked on my once-a-week hit with the Ryders (which, budget/schedule-permitting, will be more frequent); I value my Yoga practice, and will not let that slip from me.

I’ve found a balance with it all, letting them complement each other and push me past my perceived limits. Juggling work, life, and health can get tricky – but only if you let it. (Caitlin posted on work/life balance this week, definitely worth checking out if it’s a trouble-spot for you). It’s a choice to stay active, eat healthy, and give your best with whatever it is you do. This translates to retail just as much as it does in the office. I’ve focused on that balance this past week, and won’t let that slip, either.

*****

Now, I feel incredibly lucky to be doing what I do, with a Food company. The “9-5” day flies by and I’m learning a lot. I’ve been welcomed, and get excited to head in every day. I have the opportunity to work with a progressive Marketing team, helping take an already great company to the next level.

Now, Fridays signal the end of the week, and I have a great weekend to look forward to. The Visitors arrive tonight, and we have a race to run!

*****

What’s on your weekend agenda? Challenge yourself, however you want to. And tell me about it!

P.S. The comments on yesterday’s post surprisingly all went one way – and I loved hearing all of the input!! Thanks for adding to the “debate” 🙂

18 Comments

Filed under about me, Lululemon, new things!, things that make me Happy

18 responses to “Now that “Friday” means something

  1. You are in a really good place right now, I can tell. Which is so awesome to see in bloggy land. It sounds like you have a dream job – seriously. To marry your love of fitness with marketing for Lulu? Unreal! That would be the ultimate job for me, I swear! PS. Good luck this weekend!!

    • Heather C

      Ha, well I just cleared up part of the post so there’s not confusion. I don’t work for lulu anymore, but DO have a dream job 🙂

      Thanks!!

  2. “The Visitors” makes it sound like you’re being invaded by weird aliens.

    Oh, wait, we’re talking about Sister and D2. That’s about right.

    Zing!

  3. Aww fun Heather — vongrats. Sounds like you’re in such a great place 🙂

  4. Congrats on the new job lady! That sounds like a great fit for you!

    Keeping up a workout balance while working the 9-5 can be tough sometimes but I’m sure you can do it!

  5. Liz

    Congrats on the new job! Sounds like a perfect match for you!

  6. Abby

    My sister is getting married tomorrow so I will be soaking up all of the family festivities!

  7. Could not be happier for you! How awesome, Heather:)

    Good for you for finding a balance with a job you love and remembering your core. Those CO folk know the meaning of work-life.

    Elated for you!

  8. I love hearing that you are happy and have found balance!

  9. Big congrats on the new 9-5 oin your field! It’s awesome to love your work. Happy Weekend!!!

  10. Congrats on a job you love!!!

  11. So happy for you, Heather! I love that you are with a company that welcomed you where you’re learning a lot. Just think how much your life has been enriched with lulu and now with your new job! I’m working tomorrow, but I had today off to tend to some other “work” and get my ass kicked at one of our ambassador’s boot camps. 🙂

  12. Congrats and so glad you’re enjoying the new job. Can’t wait to hear more details. Very exciting and yes, looking forward to a real Friday is a nice change.

  13. I’m jealous of the dream job, whatever it may be for you! I’m still trying to figure out what mine is…

    I’m working allllll weekend! Friday, Saturday, and Sunday night, so I can’t wait for the weekend to be over…

  14. i have a long run tomorrow! woooot!

  15. Sounds perfect!!! It’s SO hard to find the right job- the right company, the right people, the right purpose- I’m so glad you’re having a good experience!!

Let's Hear It!

